14.28 hrs.

Title: Regarding appointment of six members of Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to provide for the establishment of an Authority as per the Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I have to report the following message received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do appoint six members of Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee of the Houses on the Bill to provide for the establishment of an Authority to give an effective system for protection of the rights of plant breeders and farmers, and to encourage the development of new varieties of plants, and to give effect to subparagraph (b) of paragraph 3 of article 27 of Part II of the Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights in the vacancies caused by retirement of six Members namely Shri Janardhana Poojary, Shri V. Kishore Chandra S. Deo, Dr. Ranbir Singh, Shri Onkar Singh Lakhawat, Dr. Biplab Dasgupta and Shri Gurudas Das Gupta from Rajya Sabha on the 2nd April, 2000 and resolves that Dr. A.R. Kidwai, Dr. M.N. Das, Shri Lalithbhai Mehta, Shri Kailash Joshi, Dr. Biplab Dasgupta and Shri N.R. Dasari be appointed to the said Joint Committee to fill the vacancies."

14.29 hrs.