Title: Regarding election of members to the Joint Committee on Offices of Profit.

17.27 hrs.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I have to report the following message received from the Secretary-General of Rajya Sabha:-

`I am directed to inform the Lok Sabha that the Rajya Sabha at its sitting held on Friday, the 17th December, 1999 adopted the following motion in regard to the Committee on Office of Profit:-

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that a Joint Committee of the Houses to be called the Joint Committee on Offices of Profit be constituted for the purposes set out in the motion adopted by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on the 9th December, 1999 and resolves that this House do join in the said Joint Committee and proceed to elect in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, five members from among the Members of the House to serve on the said Joint Committee."

- 2. I am further to inform the Lok Sabha that in pursuance of the above motion, the following Members of the Rajya Sabha have been duly elected to the said Committee:
- 1. Shri Onkar Singh Lakhawat
- 2. Shri Sanjay Nirupam
- 3. Shri E. Balanandan
- 4. Dr. M.N. Das
- 5. Shri Banarsi Das Gupta."

---