Title: Introduction of the Cabinet Ministers and Ministers of State (Independent Charge) of the Union Council of Ministers by the Prime Minister.

12.47 hrs.

**THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI ATAL BIHARI VAJPAYEE):** Mr. Speaker, Sir, with your permission, I wish to introduce to you and through you to the august House, the members of the Council of Ministers:

Shri L. K. Advani Minister of Home Affairs

Shri Ananth Kumar Minister of Culture, Youth Affairs and Sports

Shri T. R. Baalu Minister of Environment and Forests

Kumari Mamta Banerjee Minister of Railways

Shri George Fernandes Minister of Defence

Shri Jag Mohan Minister of Urban Development

Dr. Satyanarayan Jatiya Minister of Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation

Shri Ram Jethmalani Minister of Law, Justice and Company Affairs

Shri Manohar Joshi Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi Minister of Human Resource Development and Minister of Science and Technology

Shri P. R. Kumaramangalam Minister of Power

Shri Pramod Mahajan Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of Water Resources

Shri Murasoli Maran Minister of Commerce and Industry

Shri Ram Naik Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas

Shri Nitish Kumar Minister of Surface Transport

Shri Jual Oraon Minister of Tribal Affairs

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan Minister of Communications

Shri Naveen Patnaik Minister of Minnes and Mineral

Shri Sunder Lal Patwa Minister of Rural Development

Shri Suresh Prabhu Minister of Chemicals and Fertilisers

Shri Kashiram Rana Minister of Textiles

Shri Shanta Kumar Minister of Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution

Shri Jaswant Singh Minister of External Affairs

Shri Yashwant Sinha Minister of Finance

Shri Sharad Yadav Minister of Civil Aviation

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Shrimati Maneka Gandhi Minister of State of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

Shri Arun Jaitley Minister of State of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

Shri M. Kannappan Minister of State of the Ministry of Non-Conventional Energy Sources

Shri Dilip Ray Minister of State of the Ministry of Steel

In addition, he will assist the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.

Shrimati Vasundhara Raje Minister of State of the Ministry of Small-scale Industries and Agro- and Rural Industries; and

Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Minister of State in the Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space

Shri N.T. Shanmugam Minister of State of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

Kumari Uma Bharati Minister of State of the Ministry of Tourism

-----

**MR. SPEAKER:** The House stands adjourned to meet on Monday, the 25th October, 1999 half-an-hour after the President"""s Address.

12.52 hrs

The Lok Sabha then adjourned till half-an-hour after the Address by the President on Monday, October 25, 1999/Kartika 3, 1921 (Saka).