Thirteenth Loksabha

Session: 1 Date: 22-10-1999

Participants: Speaker pro tem, Shri Indrajit Gupta Mr.

Title: Motion for Election of Speaker moved by Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee and seconded by Shrimati Sonia Gandhi and by other Members. Motion -- adopted.

11.07 hrs.

MR. SPEAKER: Now I call upon Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee to move the Motion standing in his name.

प्रधानमंत्री (श्री अटल बिहारी वाजपेयी): माननीय अध्यक्ष जी, मैं प्रस्ताव करता हूं:

'कि श्री जी.एम.सी. बालयोगी, जो इस सभा के सदस्य हैं, को इस सभा के अध्यक्ष के रूप में चुना जाये।'

SHRIMATI SONIA GANDHI (AMETHI): Sir, I second the motion moved by the hon. Prime Minister Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

THE MINISTER OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI L. K. ADVANI): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G. M. C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

रक्षा मंत्री (श्री जॉर्ज फर्नान्डीज): अध्यक्ष जी, मैं इस प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

THE MINISTER OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRIES (SHRI MURASOLI MARAN): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G. M. C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI S. S. PALANIMANICKAM (THANJAVUR): Sir, I second the motion.

SHRI SOMNATH CHATTERJEE (BOLPUR): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI N.N. KRISHNADAS (PALGHAT): Sir, I second the Motion.

SHRI K. YERRANNAIDU (SRIKAKULAM): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G. M. C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

MR. SPEAKER: Shri K.E. Krishna Murthy.

SHRI SHARAD PAWAR (BARAMATI): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI SHRINIVAS DADASAHEB PATIL (MARULKAR) (KARAD): Sir, I second the Motion.

श्री मुलायम सिंह यादव (सम्भल) : महोदय, मैं प्रस्ताव करता हं:

'कि श्री जी.एम.सी.बालयोगी, जो इस सभा के सदस्य हैं, को इस सभा के अध्यक्ष के रूप में चुना जाए।'

श्री बेनी प्रसाद वर्मा (केसरगंज) : महोदय, ौं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

कुमारी मायावती (अकबरपुर) : महोदय, मैं प्रस्ताव करती हुं:

'कि श्री जी.एम.सी.बालयोगी, जो इस सभा के सदस्य हैं, को इस सभा के अध्यक्ष के रूप में चुना जाए।'

श्री राशिद अल्वी (अमरोहा) : महोदय, मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हं।

THE MINISTER OF MINES AND MINERALS (SHRI NAVEEN PATNAIK): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI PRASANNA ACHARYA (SAMBALPUR): Sir, I second the Motion.

SHRI VAIKO (SIVAKASI): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF NON-CONVENTIONAL ENERGY SOURCES (SHRI M. KANNAPPAN): Sir, I second the Motion.

MR. SPEAKER: Next, Shri Indrajit Gupta, i.e. myself.

I, not in my capacity as the Speaker pro tem, but as a Member of this House, am moving the motion.

I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

PROF. A.K. PREMAJAM (BADAGARA): I fully support what Shrimati Geeta Mukherjee has said.

THE MINISTER OF RAILWAYS (KUMARI MAMATA BANERJEE): Sir, I support what Geetaji has said. I support Shrimati Geeta Mukherjee fully and hope that our Speaker-elect will be able to give us a full democratic strength in this House. Thank you very much. ... (Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: At the moment, you are just required to move the Motion.

... (Interruptions)

KUMARI MAMTA BANERJEE: Yes, I move the motion.

Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRI AJIT KUMAR PANJA): Sir, I second the Motion moved by our Leader, Kumari Mamta Banerjee with the additional words.

रसायन और उर्वरक मंत्री (श्री सुरेश प्रभु): महोदय, मैं प्रस्ताव करता हुं :

'कि श्री जी.एम.सी.बालयोगी, जो इस सभा के सदस्य हैं, को इस सभा के अध्यक्ष के रूप में चुना जाए।'

भारी उद्योग और लोक उद्यम मंत्री (श्री मनोहर जोशी) : महोदय, मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

SHRI P.H. PANDIYAN (TIRUNELVELI): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

SHRI K. MALAISAMY (RAMANATHAPURAM): Sir, I second the Motion moved by Shri P.H. Pandian.

THE MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SHRI N.T. SHANMUGAM): Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI E. PUNNUSWAMY): Sir, I second the Motion.

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, the motions which were tabled have been moved and seconded. The motion moved by Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee and seconded by Shrimati Sonia Gandhi is before the House for consideration and I am putting this motion to the vote of the House.

The question is: "That Shri G.M.C. Balayogi, a Member of this House, be chosen as the Speaker of this House."

The motion was adopted.

MR. SPEAKER: The motion is carried. I declare that Shri G.M.C. Balayogi has been chosen as the Speaker of this House.

(Shri G.M.C. Balayogi was conducted to the Chair by the Leader of the House, Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee and the Leader of the Opposition, Shrimati Sonia Gandhi.)

11.17 hrs

Mr. Speaker(Shri G.M.C. Balayogi) in the Chair)