12. 19 hrs.

MOTION RE: JOINT COMMITTEE ON SAFETY

STANDARDS IN SOFT DRINKS ETC.

Title: Motion regarding appointment of a Joint Parliamentary Committee on Safety Standards in Soft Drinks, etc. (Motion adopted).

MR. SPEAKER: Yesterday, a question came up regarding appointment of a Joint Parliamentary Committee on one issue, and I had given my ruling that a Joint Parliamentary Committee will be formed.

Now, the hon. Minister of Parliamentary Affairs would like to move a motion to that effect.

THE MINISTER OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE AND MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRIMATI SUSHMA SWARAJ): Mr. Speaker, Sir, I beg to move:

"That a Joint Committee of both Houses consisting of 15 Members -- 10 from Lok Sabha and five from Rajya be appointed to report:

- i. Whether the recent findings of Centre of Science and Environment (CSE) regarding pesticide residues in soft drinks are correct or not.
- ii. To suggest criteria for evolving suitable safety standards for soft drinks, fruit juice and other beverages where water is the main constituent.

That the Committee shall have the following 10 Members of the Lok Sabha as its Members:

- 1. Shri Shard Pawar
- 2. Shri Ananth Kumar
- 3. Dr. (Shrimati) Sudha Yadav
- 4. Shri Ramesh Chennithala
- 5. Shri Avtar Singh Bhadana
- 6. Shri K. Yerrannaidu
- 7. Shri E. Ahamed
- 8. Dr. Ranjit Kumar Panja
- 9. Shri Akhilesh Yadav
- 10. Shri Anil Basu

That the Speaker shall nominate one of the Members of the Committee to be its Chairman.

That the Committee shall start functioning from the day it is duly constituted.

That the Committee shall be provided all assistance by the Government and its agencies.

That in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of Members of the Joint Committee.

That the Joint Committee shall make a report to the House by the beginning of the next Session of the Parliament.

That the Rules of Procedure of the House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply.

That the Committee may, if the need arises, in certain matters, adopt a different procedure with the concurrence of the Speaker.

That this House recommends to Rajya Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee and communicate to this House the names of the Members appointed from amongst the Members of the Rajya Sabha to the Committee as mentioned above."

12.20 hrs.

"That a Joint Committee of both Houses consisting of 15 Members -- 10 from Lok Sabha and five from Rajya be appointed to report:

- i. Whether the recent findings of Centre of Science and Environment (CSE) regarding pesticide residues in soft drinks are correct or not.
- ii. To suggest criteria for evolving suitable safety standards for soft drinks, fruit juice and other beverages where water is the main constituent.

That the Committee shall have the following 10 Members of the Lok Sabha as its Members:

- 1. Shri Shard Pawar
- 2. Shri Ananth Kumar
- 3. Dr. (Shrimati) Sudha Yadav
- 4. Shri Ramesh Chennithala
- 5. Shri Avtar Singh Bhadana
- 6. Shri K. Yerrannaidu
- 7. Shri E. Ahamed
- 8. Dr. Ranjit Kumar Panja
- 9. Shri Akhilesh Yadav
- 10. Shri Anil Basu

That the Speaker shall nominate one of the Members of the Committee to be its Chairman.

That the Committee shall start functioning from the day it is duly constituted.

That the Committee shall be provided all assistance by the Government and its agencies.

That in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee, the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of Members of the Joint Committee.

That the Joint Committee shall make a report to the House by the beginning of the next Session of the Parliament.

That the Rules of Procedure of the House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply.

That the Committee may, if the need arises, in certain matters, adopt a different procedure with the concurrence of the Speaker.

That this House recommends to Rajya Sabha that the Rajya Sabha do join the Committee and communicate to this House the names of the Members appointed from amongst the Members of the Rajya Sabha to the Committee as mentioned above."

The motion was adopted.
