>18.12 hrs.

Title: Announcement regarding constitution of a Committee to inquire into alleged police excesses on peaceful demonstration of farmers held on 9.12.2002.

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, as you are aware, today when the issue of assault on Shri Devendra Prasad Yadav, M.P. on 9th December, 2002 in New Delhi was raised in the House, it was the unanimous demand of the House that a Committee be constituted by the Speaker to inquire into the incident.

Accordingly, I have since constituted a Committee consisting of following 15 Members to inquire into the incident of assault on Shri Devendra Prasad Yadav, M.P. on 9th December, 2002:-

- 1. Dr. Vijay Kumar Malhotra
- 2. Shri Kirti Jha Azad
- 3. Shri Anadi Sahu
- 4. Shri Kharabela Swain
- 5. Shri Kirit Somaiya
- 6. Shri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi
- 7. Shrimati Renuka Chowdhury
- 8. Shri Satyavrat Chaturvedi
- 9. Shri Hannan Mollah
- 10. Shri B. Venkateshwarlu
- 11. Shri Ramji Lal Suman
- 12. Shri Shivaji Mane
- 13. Shri Ram Sajivan
- 14. Shri S.S. Palanimanickam
- 15. Shri Raghunath Jha

I have appointed Dr. Vijay Kumar Malhotra as the Chairman of the Committee. The Committee shall submit its Report to the House before the end of the current Session.

Now the hon. Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs will make a statement.

.....

18.14 hrs.