12.06 hrs.

Title: The Speaker gave his consent to the moving of adjournment motion regarding mismanagement of US-64 funds by the Unit Trust of India (UTI), adversely affecting the small investors and failure of the Government to take timely action to prevent it.

MR. SPEAKER: There is an announcement.

...(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: There is an observation.

...(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER: Nothing should go on record.

(Interruptions) … *

MR. SPEAKER: I have to inform the House that I have received 42 notices of adjournment motion regarding deplorable conduct and the manner in which the UTI's US-64 scheme had been put to jeopardy causing total crisis of confidence of the small investors on the Government and UTI due to deliberate omissions and commissions on the part of various authorities including the Finance Ministry from the following Members:-

- 1. Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh
- 2. Shri Basudeb Acharia
- 3. Shri Somnath Chatterjee
- 4. Shri Rupchand Pal
- 5. Shri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi
- 6. Shrimati Begum Noor Bano
- 7. Shri M.K. Subba
- 8. Shri Tara Chand Bhagora
- 9. Shri Jagmeet Singh Brar
- 10. Shri Kantilal Bhuria
- 11. Shri Wangcha Rajkumar
- 12. Shri G. Puttaswamy Gowda

- 13. Shri V.M. Sudheeran
- 14. Shri Madhab Rajbangshi
- 15. Shri K. Suresh
- 16. Shri Sundarlal Tiwari
- 17. Shri K.H. Muniyappa
- 18. Shri Naresh Puglia
- 19. Shri Charanjit Singh
- 20. Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary
- 21. Shri Gajendra Singh Rajukhedi
- 22. Shri Shankarsinh Vaghela
- 23. Shri Sujan Singh Bundela
- 24. Shrimati Preneet Kaur
- 25. Shri Bherulal Meena
- 26. Shri K. Basavana Goud
- 27. Shri Shriprakash Jaiswal
- 28. Shri Savshibhai Makwana
- 29. Col. Sona Ram Choudhary
- 30. Shri Vilas Muttemwar
- 31. Shri E.M.S. Natchiappan
- 32. Shri Mani Shankar Aiyar
- 33. Shri N. Jarardhana Reddy
- 34. Shri George Eden
- 35. Shri M.O.H. Farook
- 36. Shri Paban Singh Ghatowar
- 37. Shri K.A. Sangtam
- 38. Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal
- 39. Shrimati Margaret Alva
- 40. Shri Satyavrat Chaturvedi
- 41. Shri Dahyabhai V. Patil
- 42. Shri Chandra Bhushan Singh

I give my consent to Shri M.K. Subba who has secured first place in the ballot to move the motion in the following form:-

"Mismanagement of US-64 funds by Unit Trust of India adversely affecting the small investors and failure of the Government to take timely action to prevent it."

Shri M.K. Subba, meanwhile in his letter received by me today, has requested that Shri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi may be permitted to seek leave of the House and initiate discussion in his place.

I have accepted his request. Shri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi may now ask for leave of the House.

SHRI PRIYA RANJAN DASMUNSI (RAIGANJ): I seek leave of the House for moving the Motion for Adjournment regarding mismanagement of US-64 funds by Unit Trust of India adversely affecting the small investors and failure of the Government to take timely action to prevent it.

MR. SPEAKER: Those who are in favour of leave being granted for moving the Adjournment Motion may rise in their places:

SEVERAL HON. MEMBERS rose--

MR. SPEAKER: I find the number is more than the requisite number.

So, leave is granted. Under Rule 61, the Adjournment Motion is to be taken up at 16.00 hours or at an earlier hour.

SHRI MADHAVRAO SCINDIA (GUNA): It may be taken up at 1400 hours....(Interruptions)

SHRI S. JAIPAL REDDY (MIRYALGUDA): It may be taken up at 1400 hours. The House would need more time.

MR. SPEAKER: As per the rule, it is to be taken up at 16.00 hours only or at an earlier hour, that is, 1400 hours. We can take it up at 1400 hours also. It is to be taken up at 1600 hours or at an earlier hour.

THE MINISTER OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS AND MINISTER OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI PRAMOD MAHAJAN): We can take it up at 2 o' Clock.

MR. SPEAKER: That is, at 1400 hours. Under Rule 62 not less than 2 hours and 30 minutes are allotted for its discussion.

I propose that the discussion on the Adjournment Motion may be taken up at 2 p.m. and voting may take place at 6.30 p.m. Therefore, we would get 4 hours and 30 minutes for discussion.

I hope the House agrees.

The party-wise time allocation is as follows:

- 1. BJP and other parties represented in the Government 2 hours 05 mts.
- 2. INC 55 mts
- 3. CPI(M) 17 mts.
- 4. TDP 15 mts.
- 5. Samajwadi Party 14 mts.
- 6. BSP 08 mts.
- 7. AIADMK 05 mts.
- 8. AITC 04 mts.
- 9. NCP 04 mts.
- 10. RJD 03 mts.
- 11. INLD 02 mts.
- 12. PMK 02 mts.
- 13. Small Groups(CPI/RSP/ABLC/AIFB/MLKSC)

Combinedly - 07 mts.

14. Independent/Single Member party - 09 mits.

I urge upon the hon. Members to stick to the time schedule so that the discussion may be completed within the stipulated time.
