Title: Motion regarding reference of Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers" Rights Bill, 1999. (Motion Adopted)

THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI NITISH KUMAR): Sir, I beg to move :

"That the Bill to provide for the establishment of an Authority to give an effective system for protection of the rights of plant breeders and farmers, and to encourage the development of new varieties of plants, and to give effect to sub-paragraph (b) of paragraph 3 of article 27 of Part II of the Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely :-

- 1. Dr. Baliram
- 2. Shri Ajay Chakraborty
- 3. Shrimati Kailasho Devi
- 4. Shri G. Putta Swamy Gowda
- 5. Shri Suresh Ramrao Jadhav
- 6. Shri Raghuveer Singh Kaushal
- 7. Dr. Ramkrishna Kusmaria
- 8. Shri Jagannath Mallick
- 9. Shri Kamal Nath
- 10. Dr. Ranjit Kumar Panja
- 11. Shri Anna Saheb M.K. Patil
- 12. Shri Sharad Pawar
- 13. Shri Nawal Kishore Rai
- 14. Shri Chandra Bhushan Singh
- 15. Shri Ram Prasad Singh
- 16. Shri Shanker Sinh Vaghela
- 17. Shri Ummareddy Venkateswarlu
- 18. Shri Sahib Singh Verma
- 19. Shri Mahboob Zahedi
- 20. Shri Nitish Kumar
- and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the next Session;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

MR. SPEAKER: The question is:

"That the Bill to provide for the establishment of an Authority to give an effective system for protection of the rights of plant breeders and farmers, and to encourage the development of new varieties of plants, and to give effect to sub-paragraph (b) of paragraph 3 of article 27 of Part II of the Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights, be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely :-

- 1. Dr. Baliram
- 2. Shri Ajay Chakraborty
- 3. Shrimati Kailasho Devi
- 4. Shri G. Putta Swamy Gowda

- 5. Shri Suresh Ramrao Jadhav
- 6. Shri Raghuveer Singh Kaushal
- 7. Dr. Ramkrishna Kusmaria
- 8. Shri Jagannath Mallick
- 9. Shri Kamal Nath
- 10. Dr. Ranjit Kumar Panja
- 11. Shri Anna Saheb M.K. Patil
- 12. Shri Sharad Pawar
- 13. Shri Nawal Kishor Rai
- 14. Shri Chandra Bhushan Singh
- 15. Shri Ram Prasad Singh
- 16. Shri Shanker Sinh Vaghela
- 17. Shri Ummareddy Venkateswarlu
- 18. Shri Sahib Singh Verma
- 19. Shri Mahboob Zahedi
- 20. Shri Nitish Kumar
- and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the next Session;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

The motion was adopted.