GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ENVIRONMENT, FORESTS AND CLIMATE CHANGE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4963
ANSWERED ON:23.12.2014
RECONSTITUTION OF NATIONAL BOARD FOR WILDLIFE .
Jayadevan Shri C. N.

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT, FORESTS AND CLIMATE CHANGE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that the national Board for Wild Life under the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972 has been reconstituted without the mandatory non-Governmental members in the panel;
- (b) if so, the details of the newly constituted Board indicating the mandatory number of Board members; and
- (c) the reasons for reducing the number of non-Governmental members in the panel?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT, FORESTS AND CLIMATE CHANGE (SHRI PRAKASH JAVADEKAR)

- (a) No, Sir.
- (b) As per Section 5A of the Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972, the National Board for Wildlife (NBWL) has 47 members with the Prime Minister in the Chair. The Minister in charge of the Ministry of Environment & Forests in the Central Government is the Vice-Chairperson and the Director Wildlife Preservation as the Member Secretary. The NBWL also includes five repre-sentatives of Non Governmental Organizations and ten persons nominated by the Central Government from amongst eminent conservationists, ecologists and environmentalists.

The NBWL was re-constituted in 2014 vide Gazette Notification No. 1886 (E) dated 22nd July 2014 and No. 2304 (E) dated 11th September 2014 with the following members:

Members of Parliament:

i. Dr. Jyoti Dhurve, Lok Sabha
ii. Shri Dushyant Singh, Lok Sabha
iii. Dr. M.S. Gill, Rajya Sabha.
Representatives of Non-Government Organizations:
i. Gujarat Ecological Education and Research (GEER) Foundation, Gandhinagar, Gujarat.
ii. World Wildlife Fund for Nature-India, New Delhi.
iii. Aranyak, Guwahati, Assam.

iv. Nature Conservation Society, Jharkhand.

v. Bombay Natural History Society, Mumbai, Maharashtra.
Eminent conservationists, ecologists and environmentalists:
i. Prof. Raman Sukumar.
ii. Dr. H.S. Singh.
iii. Shri V.B. Sawarkar.
iv. Shri. S.S. Bisht.
v. Dr. P.S.Easa.
vi. Shri P.R. Sinha.
vii. Dr.R.J.Rao.
viii. Dr. Madan Mohan Pant.
ix. Shri Rajendra P. Kerkar.
x. Shri Lav Kumar Khachar.
State Governments:
i. Andhra Pradesh.
ii. Goa.
iii. Rajasthan.
iv. Uttarakhand.
v. Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

vii. Kerala.

vi. Punjab.

```
viii. Gujarat.
```

ix. Tripura.

x. West Bengal.

(c) Does not arise.