GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURISM LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3640 ANSWERED ON:15.12.2014 VISA ON ARRIVAL SCHEME

Chavan Shri Ashok Shankarrao;Gupta Shri Sudheer;Kalvakuntla Smt. Kavitha;Kirtikar Shri Gajanan Chandrakant;Owaisi Shri Asaduddin;Pradhan Shri Nagendra Kumar;Singh Shri Kunwar Haribansh;Singh Shri Rajveer (Raju Bhaiya)

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has launched the `Visa-on-Arrival` (VOA) by introducing electronic travel authorization scheme facility for the citizens of certain countries to boost tourism in India:
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the details of study conducted to find out the impact of this scheme in boosting inflow of foreign tourists to India:
- (c) whether certain countries are also providing this facility to Indian citizens;
- (d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (e) whether the Government has any proposal to include all countries of the world under the scheme to boost tourism sector; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof and the time by which the citizens of these countries are likely to be extended VoA?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE)(DR. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) and (b): Government of India has introduced Tourist Visa on Arrival enabled by Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) to facilitate foreign travelers visiting India to the nationals of the following 43 countries w.e.f. 27.11.2014:

Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kingdom of Tongo, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Philippines, Republic of Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Palau, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea.

Ministry of Home Affairs has examined the proposal in consultation with concerned Ministries and security agencies.

- (c) and (d): Visa on Arrival facility has been provided to Indian passport holders by 58 countries as on date. The names of the countries providing such facility is placed at Annexure.
- (e) and (f): List of more countries eligible for TVoA would be notified by Government from time to time.