GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3991 ANSWERED ON:17.12.2014 INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS Pal Shri Jagdambika

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware of the problems faced by the Intellectual Property Rights Chair Professors such as weak research components, research publication, lack of suitable Professor level personnel as observed in the current Five Year Plan;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of the Intellectual Property Rights Chair Professors in the universities across the country;
- (d) whether there are any vacancies for the above positions in the universities and if so, the details thereof, University-wise; and
- (e) whether the Government is taking any remedial measures in this regard and if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SMT. SMRITI ZUBIN IRANI)

- (a)&(b): The current Five Year Plan document does not contain these observations specific to Intellectual Property Rights Chair Professor, though there are certain observations in the current Plan document regarding education and research in general.
- (c): There are Intellectual Property Rights Chair Professors in six Universities. The details of the six Chair Professors are (i) National Law School of India University, Bengaluru Dr. T. Ramakrishna; (ii) Nalsar University of Law, Hyderabad Dr. V.C. Vivekanandan; (iii) University of Delhi (Cluster Innovation Centre), Delhi Dr. Rekha Chaturvedi; (iv) Tezpur University, Tezpur Dr. Prabuddha Ganguli, (v) Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kochi Dr. N.S. Gopalakrishnan; and (vi) National Law Institute University, Bhopal Dr. Ghayur Alam.
- (d)&(e): There are five positions in Universities presently vacant, that is, not having Intellectual Property Rights Chair Professors in position. Hence, the relevant activities are being presently undertaken in these five Universities by the following Intellectual Property Rights Chair Coordinators (i) West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata Dr. Anirban Mazumder; (ii) National Law University, Jodhpur Dr. Gargi Chakrabarti; (iii) University of Delhi (Faculty of Law), Delhi Dr. Ashwani Kumar Bansal; and (iv) Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi Dr. Rajendra P. Kundu, (v) University of Madras, Chennai Dr. David Ambrose.