GOVERNMENT OF INDIA POWER LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1869 ANSWERED ON:04.12.2014 CAPTIVE COAL BLOCKS FOR THERMAL POWER STATIONS Khuba Shri Bhagwanth

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government is aware that KPCL & BHEL have formed a joint venture company to execute super critical Thermal Power Station in Yermars and Edlapur to meet the electricity requirement of Karnataka State;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and whether any request has been made by the State Government to the Union Government for allotment of captive coal block for this project; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and action taken thereon?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (c): Raichur Power Corporation Ltd., (RPCL) is formed as a Joint Venture Company with Karnataka Power Corporation Limited (KPCL), BHEL & IFCI for executing the Yermarus TPS-2x800 MW in Yermarus, Raichur and Edalapur TPS 1x800 MW in Edlapur, Raichur District, Karnataka.

KPCL had applied for four coal blocks namely Banai, Kudanali Laburi, Deocha Pachami Dewanganj – Harinsingha - Chandrabila for its Yermarus TPP (2x800 MW) and Pachwara South coal block for its Edlapur TPP- 1x800 MW.

The Government of India in 2013 had allocated Deocha-Pachami coal block to KPCL for Yermarus TPP (2x800 MW) and Edlapur TPP (1x800 MW), jointly with West Bengal Power Development Corporation Ltd. (WBPDCL), Bihar State Power Generation Company Ltd (BSPGCL) along with SJVNL, Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd. (KPCL), Uttar Pradesh Rajya Vidhut Utpadan Nigam Ltd. (UPRVUNL), Punjab State Power Corporation Ltd. (PSPCL) and Tamil Nadu Generation & Distribution Company Ltd. (TANGENDCO).