GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1782 ANSWERED ON:03.12.2014 MINORITY DOMINATED DISTRICTS Biju Shri Parayamparanbil Kuttappan;Innocent Shri ;Mahato Shri Bidyut Baran

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the minority dominated districts are socially, economically and educationally backward in comparison to national average;

(b) if so, the details thereof along with the efforts made/ being made by the Government to bring them at par with national average;

(c) whether the Government is providing financial assistance to minority dominated areas for development of basic amenities;

(d) if so, the names of cities/towns of various States including Kerala which have been provided with such financial assistance; and

(e) the norms being adopted to identify minority dominated cities/ towns in various States including Kerala?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a) During 11th Five Year Plan, 90 Minority Concentration Districts (MCDs) were identified throughout the country which are relatively backward and falling behind national average in terms of Socio- economic and Basic Amenities indicators as per Census 2001.

(b) Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) with an aim at improving the socio-economic parameters and providing basic amenities for improving the quality of life of the people and to bring the Minority Concentration Districts (MCDs) at par with national average was launched in 90 identified MCDs during 11th Five Year Plan.

(c) MsDP has been restructured from 2013-14 for implementation during remaining period of 12th Five Year Plan, for sharper focus on minority concentration areas. The unit area of planning has been changed to Minority Concentration Blocks (MCBs)/Minority Concentration Towns (MCTs)/Cluster of Villages instead of districts.

(d) State wise list of towns/cities including that of Kerala for which financial assistance under MsDP has been sanctioned during 12th Five Year Plan is annexed.

(e) Towns/cities with a minimum of 25% minority population (in case of 6 States/UTs namely, Lakhadweep, Punjab, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Jammu and Kasmir, 15% of minority population, other than that of the minority community in majority in that State/UT) having both socio-economic and basic amenities parameters below national average have been identified as Minority Concentration Towns/Cities for the implementation of the MsDP all over the country including Kerala. A total of 66 minority concentration towns have been identified for the implementation of the programme in the country.