GOVERNMENT OF INDIA EXTERNAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:468 ANSWERED ON:26.11.2014 VISA ON ARRIVAL Bhuria Shri Dileep Singh

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of countries which have extended the facility of visa-on- arrival to Indian passport holders who visit those countries;
- (b) whether any proposal is under consideration of the Government to provide visa-on-arrival facility to foreign tourists who visit India and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the names of those countries where passports are not required by Indians to visit them?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS [GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD)]

(a) Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Jordan, Maldives, Macau, Timor Leste, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Seychelles, Kenya, Mozambique, Djibouti, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritius, Sao Tome & Principe, Tanzania, Uganda, Burundi, Cape Verde, Comoros, Egypt, Gambia, Togo, Jamaica, El Salvador, Saint Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, Bolivia, Guyana, Fiji, Samoa, Nauru, Tuvalu.

Besides the countries mentioned above, Indians can also obtain visa-on arrival in the following 23 countries subject to them being precleared before arrival in the country. These countries are Albania, Azerbaijan, Cameroon, DR Congo, Eritrea, Gabon, Georgia, Ghana, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Mali, Mongolia, Myanmar, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Vietnam.

(b) Nationals of the following 12 countries are already granted visa on arrival for a single entry and stay up to 30 days in India when travelling as tourists or visiting family or friends. These are Cambodia, Finland, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Vietnam.

In addition to this, the Government is contemplating introduction of 'Tourist Visa on Arrival', enabled with 'Electronic Travel Authorisation' for a few more countries where the visitors shall be allowed a single entry and stay up to 30 days in India as tourists or casual visitors. The list of countries is being considered.

(c) Nepal and Bhutan.