LOK SABHA DEBATES

LOK SABHA

Monday, April 21, 1997/Vaisakha 1, 1919 (Saka)

The Lok Sabha met at Four Minutes Past Eleven of the Clock.

[MR. SPEAKER in the Chair]

(Interruptions)

[English]

DR. MALLIKARJUN (Mahbubnagar): Sir, since the Prime Minister and other Ministers have not reached yet, let us adjourn the House.

MR. SPEAKER: The first item is the Introduction of the Prime Minister. As all of us know the Swearing-in ceremony has just been concluded and it takes time for the Prime Minister and other Ministers to reach here.

(Interruptions)

SHRI NIRMAL KANTI-CHATTERJEE (Dumdum) : Sir, let us adjourn the House for half an hour.

MR. SPEAKER: The House stands adjourned to meet at 11.30 A.M.

11.06 hrs.

The Lok Sabha then adjourned till Thirty Minutes past Eleven of the Clock.

11.31 hrs.

(The Lok Sabha re-assembled at Thirty-One Minutes past Eleven of the Clock.)

[MR. SPEAKER in the Chair]

INTRODUCTION OF THE PRIME MINISTER

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, I have great pleasure in introducing to this House the hon. Prime Minister of India, Shri I.K. Gujral. He is known to all of us. We extend to him our good wishes and godspeed in his task.

Hon. Prime Minister may now introduce his Council of Ministers.

INTRODUCTION OF MINISTERS

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI I.K. GUJRAL): Sir, with your permission, while thanking you for the kind words and thanking my colleagues for this warm reception given to me, may I introduce my colleagues in the Government?

Cabinet Ministers :

Shri Balwant Singh Ramoowalia

Shri Beni Prasad Varma

Shri Chaturanan Mishra

Shri Indrajit Gupta

Shri Birendra Prasad Baishya

Shri C.M. Ibrahim

Shri Mulayam Singh Yadav

Shri Murasoli Maran

Prof. Saifuddin Soz

Shri R.L. Jalappa

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan

Shri Srikant Jena

Shri T.G. Venkatraman

Shri Kinjarappu Yerrannaidu

Ministers of State:

Shri Bolla Buli Ramaiah

Shri Chandradeo Prasad Varma

Shri Dilip Kumar Ray

Capt. Jai Narayan Prasad Nishad

Shrimati Kanti Singh

Shri M.P. Veerendra Kumar

Shri Muhi Ram Saikia

Shri N.V.N. Somu

Shri Raghubans Prasad Singh

Shri Ramakant D. Khalap

Dr. S. Venugopalachari

Shri Satpal Maharaj

Shri Sis Ram Ola

Shri T.R. Baalu

Dr. U. Venkateswarlu

Shri Yoginder K. Alagh

Thank you very much.

May I once again thank my colleagues and, particularly my friends, sitting on the opposite side? I want to thank all of them a great deal with all my warmth.