GOVERNMENT OF INDIA FINANCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4453 ANSWERED ON:08.08.2014 FC XIV Galla Shri Jayadev

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) the composition of the 14th Finance Commission (FC-XIV) and its terms of reference;
- (b) the details of deliberations and travels/visits and other functions performed by the Commission; and
- (c) the time for submission of report by the Commission?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman)

(a) The 14th Finance Commission has been constituted on 2nd January, 2013 under the Chairmanship of Dr. Y. V. Reddy, former Governor, Reserve Bank of India vide Notification No. S.O. 31(E) published in Gazette of India. The other members of the Commission are as under:-

(i) Prof Abhijit Sen Member
Member, Planning Commission (Part Time)
(ii) Ms. Sushma Nath Member
Former Union Finance Secretary
(iii) Dr. M.Govinda Rao Member
Director, National Institute for Public
Finance and Policy, New Delhi
(iv) Dr. Sudipto Mundle Member
Former Acting Chairman,
National Statistical Commission

Shri Ajay Narayan Jha is the Secretary to the Commission. The terms of reference for the Commission as per above Notification had been tabled in the Lok Sabha on 22.02.2013. Pursuant to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 (No. 6 of 2014), the additional terms of reference to the Commission have also been notified on 2.6.2014 vide Notification No. S.O.1424(E) which is tabled in the Lok Sabha on 11.7.2014.

- (b) The Commission has visited all States except the reorganised States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana and held meetings with the Chief Ministers and Cabinet Ministers, representatives of political parties, local self-government and trade and industry associations. Meetings with Ministries/ Departments of the Union Government have been held. It has also held Regional Conferences for deliberations with academicians, economists and public servants. The Commission has also invited views on its Terms of Reference from Ministries of the Union Government and State Governments, recognised national and state political parties and public at large.
- (c) The Commission is required to submit its report by the 31st October, 2014.