## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5175 ANSWERED ON:14.08.2014 MINORITY STATUS Rai Shri Nityanand

## Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) whether there is provision to accord minority status to those communities where population is below 12% in the country and if so, the details thereof;

(b) whether the Government proposes to withdraw minority status of those communities whose population is above 12% in the country; and

(c) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor?

## Answer

## MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (DR. NAJMA A. HEPTULLA)

(a) Minority Communities are declared by the Central Government under Section 2(c) of National Commission for Minorities (NCM) Act, 1992. Six Communities [viz. Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhist, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains} have been declared as minorities under Section 2(c) of NCM Act, 1992 till date. There is no proposal to accord minority status to those communities where population is below 12% in the country.

(b)&(c) No proposal is under consideration by the Central Government to withdraw minority status of those communities whose population is about 12% in the country.