GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2819 ANSWERED ON:30.07.2014 REVIEW OF POWERS OF CENSOR BOARD Adsul Shri Anandrao ;Tumane Shri Krupal Balaji

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) Whether there have been instance where some films were banned by the State Governments despite having been given a certificate for public screening by the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC);
- (b) if so the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Union Government has set up/proposes to set up a panel to review the powers of Censor Board and suggest amendments to the law with regard to certification of films, requirement for certification for TV Channels and piracy;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the time by when the aforesaid panel is likely to submit its report to the Central Government?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING; ENVIRONMENT, FOREST AND CLIMATE CHANGE AND MINISTER OF STATE FOR THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (SHRI PRAKASH JAVADEKAR)

- (a) & (b): Yes Madam. There are instances where film certified by Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) for public screening have been prevented from being screened. Their details of last 3 years are as under:-
- (i) The film 'Arakshan' by the states of Punjab, Andhra Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh in 2011.
- (ii) The film 'Dam 999' by the state of Tamil Nadu in 2011.
- (iii) The film 'Viswaroopam' by Tamil Nadu in the year 2013.
- (iv) The film 'Sada Haq' by Punjab in 2013.
- (c) to (e): The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting constituted an empowered committee on 04th February, 2013 under the Chairmanship of Shri Mukul Mudgal, Retired Chief Justice, High Court of Punjab and Haryana to examine all aspects of certification by CBFC under the Cinematograph Act 1952. The constitution of the Committee is as follows:
- 1. Sh. Mukul Mudgal, Retired Chief Justice, High Court of Punjab and Haryana Chairperson;
- 2. Sh. Uday Kumar Varma, Former Secretary, l&B Ministry
- 3. Sh. Lalit Bhasin, Chairperson, FCAT;
- 4. Ms. Sharmila Tagore, former Chairperson, CBFC;
- 5. Sh. Javed Akhtar, renowned music composer, writer & lyricist;
- 6. Ms. Leela Samson, Chairperson, CBFC;
- 7. Sh. L Suresh, Secretary, South Indian Film Chamber of Commerce and former President, Film Federation of India;
- 8. Ms. Rameeza Hakim, Advocate, Supreme Court of India.
- 9. Sh. Raghvendra Singh, Joint Secretary (Films), l&B-Member-Convenor.

The Committee of Experts has since submitted its report alongwith the Draft Cinematograph Bill.