GOVERNMENT OF INDIA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:24 ANSWERED ON:24.02.2016 Innovation Hubs Chautala Shri Dushyant

Will the Minister of SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government had targeted setting up of innovation hubs for promotion of scientific innovation and new projects under the Twelfth Plan Period:
- (b) if so, the details of achievements made so far in setting up of such hubs, State and year-wise; and
- (c) the steps being taken to achieve the targets?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES (SHRI.Y. S. CHOWDARY)

- (a) & (b): Yes Madam. In 12th Five Year Plan, under the 'Scheme for Promoting Innovation, Creativity and Engagement in Science (SPICES)', the Government has targeted to set up a total of 60 Innovation Hubs (48 fully funded by the Government of India and 12 in collaboration with State Government/Institutions on a 50:50 cost sharing basis), at an estimated cost of Rs. 99.60 crores. Details of achievements, state-wise and year-wise, are given at Annex I.
- (c) Out of 60 Hubs, so far nine Hubs have been inaugurated and four Hubs are ready for inauguration. In respect of 47 Hubs at Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh; Rajahmundry, Andhra Pradesh; Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir; Udaipur, Rajasthan; Vizag, Andhra Pradesh; Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan; Pune, Maharashtra; Raipur, Chhattisgarh; Puducherry (UT) and Dharwad, Karnataka, necessary commitments have been sought from respective State Governments/ Union Territory Administrations and Science Centre authorities.

Annex I

Location of Innovation Hubs

- SI. No. Location of Innovation Hub Status State Year
- 1. BITM, Kolkata Inaugurated West Bengal August 2013
- 2. VITM, Bangalore Inaugurated Karnataka December 2013
- 3. NSC, Mumbai Inaugurated Maharashtra February 2014
- 4. RSC, Guwahati Inaugurated Assam February 2014
- 5. DSC, Bardhaman Inaugurated West Bengal July 2015
- 6. RSC, Calicut Inaugurated Kerala October 2015
- 7. NSC, Delhi Inaugurated Delhi January 2014
- 8. RSC, Lucknow Inaugurated Uttar Pradesh January 2016
- 9. RSC Dehradun Inaugurated Uttarakhand February 2016
- 10. SSC Patna Ready for inauguration Bihar
- 11. Agastya International

Foundation, Kuppum Ready for inauguration Andhra Pradesh

12. Sikkim Science Centre,

Gangtok Ready for inauguration Sikkim

13. KSSTM, Trivandrum Ready for inauguration Kerala

BITM - Birla Industrial & Technological Musem

VITM - Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum

NSC - Mumbai - Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai

RSC - Regional Science Centre

DSC - District Science Centre

NSC, Delhi - National Science Centre, Delhi

SSC - Srikrishna Science Centre

KSSTM - Kerala State Science & Technology Museum
