GOVERNMENT OF INDIA WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT AND GANAGA REJUVENATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:861 ANSWERED ON:03.12.2015 Existence of Saraswati River Gautam Shri Satish Kumar

Will the Minister of WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT AND GANAGA REJUVENATION be pleased to state:

a) whether the Government proposes to set up an expert panel to find and know about existence of the Saraswati river along with identification of sites for research and development; and

(b) if so, the details and the composition thereof?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR WATER RESOURCES, RIVER DEVELOPMENT AND GANGA REJUVENATION (PROF. SANWAR LAL JAT)

(a) & (b) No, Madam. The Ministry of culture has, however, constituted the Advisory Committee on 16.09.2015 for the Multidisciplinary Study of the Saraswati basin for a period of two years. The Composition of the Committee is at Annexure.

Annexure

Annexure referred to in reply to Parts (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.861 for answer on 03.12.2015 regarding "Existence of Saraswati River"

The composition of the Advisory Committee for the Multidisciplinary Study of the River Saraswati is as follows:

- 1. Minister of Culture Member
- 2. Secretary (Culture) Member
- 3. Secretary (Tourism) Member
- 4. Director General, Archeological survey of India(ASI) Member
- 5. Joint Secretary, Ministry of Culture Member
- 6. Representative of Ministry of Water Resources Member
- 7. Representative of Ministry of Space/ISRO Member
- 8. Representative of ONGC Member
- 9. Representative of Ministry of Environment and Forest Member
- 10. Representative of Ministry of Urban Development Member
- 11. Shri Y.S. Rawat Director of Archeological (Retd) Member
- (Representative of) Govt. of Gujarat

12. Chief Engineer, Inter State and Coordination Member

(Representative of Rajasthan)

13. Additional Chief Secretary (Culture/Archaeology Member

Representative of Govt. of Haryana)

14. Director (EE) Archeological survey of India Member Secretary

Non Official Members

- 15. Prof B.B. Lal, New Delhi Member
- 16. Shri Darshan Lal Jain Haryana Member
- 17. Shri K.N. Dikshit, New Delhi Member
- 18. Dr. VMK Puri, Himachal Pradesh Member
- 19. Shri Prashant Bharadwaj, Haryana Member
- 20. Dr. Amit Jain, New Delhi Member
- 21. Shri Bal Mukund, New Delhi Member
- 22. Dr. K.S. Vaidiya, Bangalore Member
- 23. Dr. A.R. Chaudhri, Haryana Member
- 24. Dr. S. Kalyanraman, Chennai Member