GOVERNMENT OF INDIA URBAN DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:533 ANSWERED ON:02.12.2015 Smart City Mission

Anwar Shri Tariq;Chautala Shri Dushyant;Chavan Shri Harishchandra Deoram;Choudhary Col. (Retd) Sona Ram;Dhruvanarayana Shri Rangaswamy;Gautam Shri Satish Kumar;Gopal Dr. K.;K. Shri Parasuraman;Kodikunnil Shri Suresh;Kothapalli Smt. Geetha;Kumar Shri Ashwini;Lakhanpal Shri Raghav;Lekhi Smt. Meenakashi;Mahto Dr. Banshilal;Mohammed Shri Faizal P.P.;Nagar Shri Rodmal;Pala Shri Vincent H;Paraste Shri Dalpat Singh;Parthipan Shri R.;Ram Mohan Naidu Shri Kinjarapu;S.R. Shri Vijay Kumar;Sahu Shri Tamradhwaj;Shetty Shri Gopal Chinayya;Singh Deo Shri Kalikesh Narayan;Thomas Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey;Venkatesh Babu Shri T.G.

Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

Will the MINISTER OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of works that are undertaken and likely to be undertaken under smart city mission and the details of benefits to be accrued to general public and slum dwellers as a result thereof;
- (b) the details of proposals received by the Government for selection of smart cities, city-wise and the names of cities selected or likely to be selected along with the criteria for selection;
- (c) the assistance, financial or otherwise provided/likely to be provided to smart cities, city-wise;
- (d) whether the funds provided/being provided is sufficient to convert the existing cities into smart cities, if not the steps taken/being taken in this regard; and
- (e) the time frame fixed for completing the mission and the details of assistance financial or otherwise sought or offered from foreign countries/companies, country-wise along with the names of cities to which foreign assistance provided/likely to be provided?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (SHRI BABUL SUPRIYO)

(a) & (b): The purpose of the Smart Cities Mission is to drive economic growth and improve the quality of life of people by enabling local area development and harnessing technology, especially technology that leads to Smart outcomes. Area-based development will transform existing areas (retrofit and redevelop), including slums, into better planned ones, thereby improving liveability of the whole city.

The selection process of Smart Cities is based on the idea of competitive cooperative federalism and follows a Challenge (Competition) process in 2 Stages. In Stage-1, based on intra-State Competition conducted by the States/UTs (in terms of Existing Service Levels, Institutional Systems/ Capacities, Self-financing and Past track record and reforms,) the Ministry of Urban Development has announced a list of 98 cities (Annexure I) to participate in Stage 2 of the Competition. In Stage 2 of the Competition, all the 98 cities have to prepare their Smart City Proposals (SCPs) and submit to the Ministry of Urban Development (MoUD) by 15.12.2015. Thereafter, the final list of Smart Cities will be announced. The details of works to be undertaken by the cities, will arise from the the SCP.

- (c) & (d): Financial support as Central assistance under Smart Cities Mission to the extent of Rs.48,000/- crores has been proposed to be provided to the 100 cities during the Mission period. An equal amount, on a matching basis, will have to be contributed by the State/ULB. The Government of India funds and the matching contribution of the States/ULBs will meet only a part of the project cost and balance funds are expected to be mobilized from
- i. States/ ULBs own resources from collection of user fees, beneficiary charges and impact fees, land monetization, debt, loans, etc.
- ii. Additional resources transferred due to acceptance of the recommendations of the Fourteenth Finance Commission (FFC).
- iii. Innovative finance mechanisms such as municipal bonds with credit rating of ULBs, Pooled Finance Mechanism, Tax Increment Financing (TIF).
- iv. Other Central Government schemes like Swachh Bharat Mission, AMRUT, National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY).
- v. Leverage borrowings from financial institutions, including bilateral and multilateral institutions, both domestic and external sources.
- vi. States/UTs may also access the National Investment and Infrastructure Fund (NIIF), which was announced by the Finance Minister in his 2015 Budget Speech, and is likely to be set up this year.
- vii. Private sector through PPPs.

(e): The Smart Cities Mission will cover 100 cities and its present duration is five years (FY2015-16 to FY2019-20).

During the preparation of the Smart Cities Mission, a number of foreign Governments have offered to provide Technical Assistance (TA) support. Additionally, other external organizations, including bilateral and multilateral institutions, as well as domestic organizations have suggested to the Ministry of Urban Development that they can give technical assistance support. The following countries have also shown interest to participate in the development of Smart Cities:

- i) Spain,
- ii) Canada,
- iii) France,
- iv) Germany,
- v) China,
- vi) Singapore, and
- vii) United Kingdom

The Government of India has facilitated signing of Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs) between United States Trade and Development Agency (USTDA); and the State of Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh to support the development of Vishakhapatnam, Ajmer and Allahabad respectively as Smart Cities.

Annexure-1

<

List of 98 Cities shortlisted for Stage-2 of Smart Cities Mission

SI. No. Name of State/UT No. of cities shorlisted Names of Potential Cities shortlisted

- 1. Andaman & Nicobar Islands 1 1. Port Blair
- 2. Andhra Pradesh 3 1. Vishakhapatnam
- 2. Tirupati
- 3. Kakinada
- 3. Arunachal Pradesh 1 1. Pasighat
- 4. Assam 1 1. Guwahati
- 5. Bihar 3 1. Muzaffarpur
- 2. Bhagalpur
- 3. Biharsharif
- 6. Chandigarh 1 1. Chandigarh
- 7. Chhatisgarh 2 1. Raipur
- 2. Bilaspur
- 8. Daman & Diu 1 1. Diu
- 9. Dadra & Nagar Haveli 1 1. Silvassa
- 10. Delhi 1 1.New Delhi Municipal Council
- 11. Goa 1 1. Panaji
- 12. Gujarat 6 1. Gandhinagar
- 2. Ahmedabad
- 3. Surat
- 4. Vadodara
- 5. Rajkot
- 6. Dahod
- 13. Haryana 2 1. Karnal
- 2. Faridabad
- 14. Himachal Pradesh 1 1. Dharamshala
- 15. Jharkhand 1 1. Ranchi
- 16. Karnataka 6 1. Mangaluru
- 2. Belagavi
- 3. Shivamogga
- 4. Hubballi-Dharwad
- 5. Tumakuru
- 6. Davanegere
- 17. Kerala 1 1. Kochi
- 18. Lakshadweep 1 1. Kavaratti
- 19. Madhya Pradesh 7 1. Bhopal
- 2. Indore
- 3. Jabalpur
- 4. Gwalior
- 5. Sagar
- 6. Satna
- 7. Ujjain
- 20. Maharashtra 10 1. Navi Mumbai
- 2. Nashik
- 3. Thane

- 4. Greater Mumbai
- 5. Amravati
- 6. Solapur
- 7. Nagpur
- 8. Kalyan-Dombivali
- 9. Aurangabad
- 10. Pune
- 21. Manipur 1 1. Imphal
- 22. Meghalaya 1 1. Shillong
- 23. Mizoram 1 1. Aizawl
- 24. Nagaland 1 1. Kohima
- 25. Odisha 2 1. Bhubaneshwar
- 2. Raurkela
- 26. Puducherry 1 1. Oulgaret
- 27. Punjab 3 1. Ludhiana
- 2. Jalandhar
- 3. Amritsar
- 28. Rajasthan 4 1. Jaipur
- 2. Udaipur
- 3. Kota
- 4. Ajmer
- 29. Sikkim 1 1. Namchi
- 30. Tamil Nadu 12 1. Tiruchirapalli
- 2. Tirunelveli
- 3. Dindigul,
- 4. Thanjavur,
- 5. Tiruppur,
- 6. Salem,
- 7. Vellore,
- 8. Coimbatore,
- 9. Madurai,
- 10. Erode,
- 11. Thoothukudi
- 12. Chennai
- 31. Telangana 2 1. Greater Hyderabad
- 2. Greater Warangal
- 32. Tripura 1 1. Agartala
- 33. Uttar Pradesh 12 1. Moradabad
- 2. Aligarh
- 3. Saharanpur
- 4. Bareilly
- 5. Jhansi
- 6. Kanpur
- 7. Allahabad
- 8. Lucknow
- 9. Varanasi
- 10. Ghaziabad
- 11. Agra
- 12. Rampur
- 34. Uttarakhand 1 1. Dehradun
- 35. West Bengal 4 1. New Town Kolkata
- 2. Bidhannagar
- 3. Durgapur
- 4. Haldia
- Total 98