## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4533 ANSWERED ON:21.04.2015 COMMITTEE FOR NATIONAL AWARDS Rao (Avnthi) Shri Muthamsetti Srinivasa

### Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has constituted a new committee to select the sportspersons to confer Arjuna, Khel Ratna and other awards;

(b) if so, details thereof and the composition of the said committee; and

(c) whether the Government has fixed any criteria/guidelines for recommending/nominating eligible sportspersons to confer the said awards and if so, the details thereof?

# Answer

## THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

(a) & (b) Recently, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports has revised the schemes of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award, Dhyan Chand Award, Dronacharya Award and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar. As per the schemes, following is the composition of Selection Committees for the respective National Sports Awards:

#### For Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award:

To be nominated by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports 1 Chairperson 2 Sportspersons of eminence (Olympians or previous Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or Arjuna Awardees) 4 members 3 Sports Journalists / Experts / Commentators 3 members 4 A sportsperson of eminence / sports administrator / sports expert belonging to para sports 1 member 5 Sports Administrator 1 member 6 Director General, Sports Authority of India Ex-officio member 7 Joint Secretary (Sports), Department of Sports Member Secretary For Arjuna Award: 1 Chairperson A retired judge of Supreme Court/ High Court 2 Sportspersons of eminence (Olympians/ previous Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or Arjuna Awardees) 4 members 3 Sports Journalists / Experts / Commentators 3 members 4 A sportsperson of eminence / sports administrator / sports expert belonging to para sports 1 member 5 Sports Administrator 1 member 6 Director General, Sports Authority of India Ex-officio member 7 Joint Secretary (Sports), Department of Sports Member Secretary For Dhyan Chand Award: 1 Chairperson To be nominated by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports 2 Sportspersons of eminence (Olympians / previous Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees / Arjuna Awardees / Dhyan Chand Awardees) 3 members 3 Sports Journalists / Experts / Commentators 2 members 4 Sports Administrator 1 member 5 Director General, Sports Authority of India Ex-officio member 6 Joint Secretary (Sports), Department of Sports Member Secretary For Dronacharya Award: 1 Chairperson To be nominated by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports 2 Sportspersons of eminence (Olympians/ previous Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or Arjuna Awardees Awardees) 2 members 3 Previous Dronacharya Awardees from different disciplines3 members 4 Sports Journalists / Experts / Commentators 2 members 5 Sports Administrator 1 member 6 Director General, Sports Authority of India Ex-officio member 7 Joint Secretary (Sports), Department of Sports Member Secretary Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar: 1. Secretary, Department of Sports, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports Chairperson 2. Previous awardees of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2 members 3. Nominee of Industry associations, viz., Federation of Indian

Chamber of Commerce & Industry (FICCI), Confederation of Indian Industries (CII), Associated Chamber of Commerce (ASSOCHEM) etc 1 member 4 Sports Journalists / Experts / Commentators 1 member 5. Secretary (Sports) (in person) of State Government 1 member 6. Representative of Indian Olympic Association 1 member 7 Representative of a Non-Governmental Organization, active in sports 1 member 8. Director General, Sports Authority of India Member (Ex-officio) 9. Joint Secretary (Sports), Department of Sports, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports Member (Ex-officio) 10. Deputy Secretary (Sports) / Director (Sports), Department of Sports Member-Secretary (Ex-officio)

onstitution of the Selection Committees, as per above mentioned composition, is done with the approval of the competent authority after the last date of receipt of applications / nominations is over.

(c) Existing eligibility criteria for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award, Dhyan Chand Award, Dronacharya Award and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar are given in Annexure.