GOVERNMENT OF INDIA FINANCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5160 ANSWERED ON:24.04.2015 SERVICE TAX COMMISSIONERATES Tadas Shri Ramdas Chandrabhanji

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

(a) The details of Service Tax Commissionerates across the country and the number out of them set up during the last three years, Zone-wise including Wardha;

(b) Whether the newly established Service Tax Commissionerates are functional and adequately staffed;

(c) If so, the details thereof along with the number of Officers and Staff deployed therein; and

(d) If not, the reasons therefor and the steps taken by the government to deploy adequate staff and operationalise the new Service Tax Commissionerates?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE FOR FINANCE (SHRI JAYANTSINHA)

(a) After implementation of the Plan for Cadre Restructuring and Reorganization of the field formations under CBEC w.e.f. 15.10.2014 there are 4 Service Tax Zones located at Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai and 22 Service Tax Commissionerates as detailed in Annexure -A. In addition, 87 integrated Central Excise and Service Tax Commissionerates, including Commissionerate of Central Excise & Service Tax at Wardha attend to the Service Tax work.

No other Service Tax Commissionerates came into existence during the last three years.

(b) & (c) All the 22 Commissionerates of Service Tax have become operational w.e.f. 15.10.2014. Each Service Tax Commissionerate has been provided with dedicated staff strength vide Ministry's Staff Allocation Order F. No. A-11019/08/2013 Ad. IV dated 01.08.2014 as indicated in Annexure -B.

(d) Not applicable in view of the reply to (c) above.