## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LAW AND JUSTICE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3972 ANSWERED ON:13.08.2015 Delimitation of Constituencies Patil Shri Bheemrao Baswanthrao

## Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that four Divisions from Mahabubabad Parliamentary Constituency, Telangana had been included in Andhra Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the details along with the objectives thereof; and
- (c) the steps taken/being taken by the Government/Election Commission to rationalise the responsibilities of the public representatives elected to the Lok Sabha and State Assemblies from the areas comprising these affected Divisions?

## **Answer**

**ANSWER** 

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (SHRI D.V. SADANANDA GOWDA)

(a) to (c): The Election Commission has informed that under the provisions of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014 which came into force on 2nd June, 2014, a new State of Telangana comprising areas of 1-10 districts (except a part of Khammam District which has been retained in the State of Andhra Pradesh) was created. Accordingly, the areas of remaining 13 districts (11-23) of the existing State of Andhra Pradesh and a part of Khammam District remained in the existing State of Andhra Pradesh under section 3 of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014. Further, as per the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014 (Removal of Difficulties) Order, 2015, the extent of 53-Rampachodavaram (ST) and 67-Polavaram (ST) Assembly Constituencies of the State of Andhra Pradesh and 110-Pinapaka (ST), 118-Aswaraopeta (ST) and 119-Bhadrachalam (ST) Assembly Constituencies falling in the State of Telangana have been modified vide Presidential order dated 22nd April, 2015.

The Election Commission has further stated that as a result of the above modifications, no part of any Parliamentary or Assembly Constituency of one State falls into the other State.