GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2098 ANSWERED ON:03.08.2015 Cultural Exchange with Foreign Countries Singh Shri Abhishek;Singh Shri Ravneet

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2098 TO BE ANSWERD ON 3rd AUGUST 2015

CULTURAL EXCHANGE WITH FOREIGN COUNTRIES

2098. SHRI RAVNEET SINGH: SHRI ABHISHEK SINGH:

will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government continues to have cultural exchange with all the foreign countries including SAARC countries and has signed an Memorandum of Understanding(MoU) with any country;

(b) If so, the details of the countries with whom India has cultural exchange relationship along with the details of Programmes organized during the last three years

(c) whether the Indian Cultural Centers have also been set up abroad;

(d) If so, the details of the working of these centers along with the amount earmarked for the purpose; and

(e) whether the Government has chalked out any action plan for the propagation of Indian traditional recipes abroad and if so, the details thereof?

Answer

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR CULTURE AND TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) AND MINISTER OF STATE CIVIL AVAITATION (Dr. MAHESH SHARMA)

(a) No Madam. This Ministry has signed Cultural Agreements with 127 countries. List of these countries is given in the Annexure.

(b) Information of part (b) of the question is voluminous, is being compiled and will be laid on the Table of the House.

-2-

(c) Yes Madam. Thirty six Indian Cultural Centres have been set up abroad.

(d) These Centres are a principal instrument of India's institutional cultural outreach abroad and projecting our soft power through a wide range of cultural, academic and intellectual activities, promoting, inter alia, knowledge, information and understanding of various aspects of Indian culture including Indian dance, music, yoga and languages. A total sum of Rs.77.34 crore has been earmarked for these Centres under the overall budgetary provision of ICCR for the financial year 2015-16.

(e) The Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, as part of its on-going promotional activities release print, electronic, online and outdoor media campaigns in the international markets, under the 'Incredible India' brand-line, to promote the varied tourism destinations and products of the country including its cuisine. In addition, a series of promotional activities are also undertaken through the India Tourism Offices overseas which include support for the Indian Food Festivals held overseas.

In order to promote Indian cuisine which is an integral component of the Indian Tourism Product, support is being extended to Indian Food Festivals by sponsoring the visits of Indian chefs for the Food Festivals. Such support has been extended for organising Food Festivals during 2015-16 in Tashkent, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Tokyo, Osaka and Ecuador (Bogota).

LIST OF COUNTRIES WITH WHOM CULTURAL AGREEMENT/CULTURAL EXCHANGE PROOGRAMME /MEMORANDUM OF UUNDERSTANDING HAVE BEEN SIGNED

S. NO. NAME OF THE COUNTRY S. NO. NAME OF THE COUNTRY

- 1. Afghanistan 26 Czech Republic
- 2. Algeria 27 Djibouti
- 3. Angola 28 Ecuador
- 4. Argentina 29 Egypt
- 5. Armenia 30 Estonia
- 6. Australia 31 Ethiopia
- 7. Bahrain 32 Finland
- 8. Bangladesh 33 France
- 9. Belarus 34 Germany
- 10. Belgium 35 Ghana
- 11. Belize 36 Greece
- 12. Benin 37 Guyana
- 13. Bolivia 38 Hungary
- 14. Bosnia & Herzegovina 39 Iceland
- 15. Botswana 40 Indonesia
- 16. Brazil 41 Iran
- 17. Bulgaria 42 Iraq
- 18. Burkina Faso 43 Ireland
- 19. Cambodia 44 Israel
- 20. Chile 45 Italy
- 21. China 46 Jamaica
- 22. Colombia 47 Japan
- 23. Croatia 48 Jordan
- 24. Cuba 49 Kazakhstan
- 25. Cyprus 50 Kenya

-2-

S. NO. NAME OF THE COUNTRY S. NO. NAME OF THE COUNTRY S. NO. NAME OF THE COUNTRY 51 Kuwait 77 Norway 103 Tajikistan 52 Kyrgyzstan 78 Oman 104 Tanzania 53 Laos 79 Pakistan 105 Thailand 54 Latvia 80 Panama 106 Trinidad & Tobago 55 Lebanon 81 Peru 107 Tunisia 56 Lesotho 82 Philippines 108 Turkey 57 Libya 83 Poland 109 Turkmenistan 58 Lithuania 84 Portugal 110 Uganda 59 Luxembourg 85 Qatar 111 Ukraine 60 Madagascar 86 Romania 112 United Arab Emirates 61 Malaysia 87 Russia 113 Uzbekistan 62 Maldives 88 Rwanda 114 Venezuela 63 Malta 89 Senegal 115 Vietnam 64 Mauritius 90 Serbia & Montenegro 116 Yemen 65 Mexico 91 Seychelles 117 Zaire 66 Moldova 92 Singapore 118 Zambia 67 Magnolia 93 Slovak Republic 119 Zimbabwe 68 Morocco 94 Slovenia 120 Brunei 69 Mozambique 95 Somalia 121 DR of Congo 70 Myanmar 96 South Africa 122 Saudi Arabia 71 Namibia 97 South Korea 123 Georgia 72 Nepal 98 Spain 124 Canada 73 Netherlands 99 Sri Lanka 125 United Kingdom 74 Nicaragua 100 Sudan 126 Dominican Republic 75 Nigeria 101 Suriname 127 France 76 North Korea 102 Syria ----- --