GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LAW AND JUSTICE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1839 ANSWERED ON:30.07.2015 Registration of Political Parties Devi Smt. Rama

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

(a) the details of political parties registered with the Election Commission in the country along with the date of their registration;

(b) the names of political parties which have not contested any election for the last five years;

(c) whether the Government/Election Commission proposes to take any steps for de-registration of such political parties and if so, the details thereof;

(d) whether these political parties file income tax returns showing sources of their income; and

(e) if so, the details thereof during the last three years and if not, the reasons therefor?

Answer

ANSWER

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (SHRI D.V. SADANANDA GOWDA)

(a) The Election Commission has informed that as on 24.07.2015, 1866 political parties are registered with the Commission. Out of these 1866 political parties, 56 political parties are recognised (National/State) political parties and the remaining are un-recognised registered political parties. The date of registration of these political has not been compiled.

(b): In the last general election to the House of People held in 2014 (16th Lok Sabha), 464 political parties set up candidates. There would be some parties which contest elections to the Legislative Assemblies and local bodies. The information about the parties contesting elections to local bodies is not available in the Commission.

(c): The Law Commission in its 255th Report has recommended for the de-registration of a political party for failure to contest Parliamentary or State elections for ten consecutive years. The recommendations made in the Report are under consideration of the Government.

(d) and (e): Political parties are required to file their Income Tax Returns under section 139 of Income tax Act, 1961 before the Income tax Department. As political parties do not file copy of their income tax returns with the Election Commission of India, such information is not available with the Commission.