GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1420 ANSWERED ON:29.07.2015 Youth Parliament Devi Smt. Rama

Will the Minister of PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of Youth Parliament competitions held and winners thereof for the last one year;
- (b) whether Youth Parliament Competitions have not been held in Bihar for the past several years and if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor:
- (c) the year-wise number of the Youth Parliament Competitions held in various States including Bihar during the last three years and the current year; and
- (d) the quantum of financial assistance given by the Government to Bihar and various states during the said period?

Answer

- (a) This Ministry implements 4 Schemes of Youth Parliament Competitions in various educational institutions with a view to strengthen the roots of democracy, inculcate healthy habits of discipline, tolerance of the views of others and to enable the student community to know something about the working of Parliament. The Schemes are as under:-
- 1. Scheme for Youth Parliament Competitions for schools under the Directorate of Education, Govt. of NCT of Delhi/New Delhi Municipal Council.
- 2. Scheme for National Youth Parliament Competitions for Kendriya Vidyalayas
- 3. Scheme for National Youth Parliament Competitions for Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas
- 4. Scheme for National Youth Parliament Competitions for Universities/Colleges.

Besides, this Ministry also implements a Scheme of Financial Assistance to States/Union Territories for organising Youth Parliament Competitions in the High Schools/Senior Secondary Schools of the States/UTs.

During last year, Youth Parliament Competitions were held in 34 Schools under the Directorate of Education, Govt. Of NCT of Delhi/NDMC, 125 Kendriya Vidyalayas, 64 Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas and 36 Universities/Colleges under the above mentioned Schemes respectively. Happy School, Daryaganj, Delhi, Kendriya Vidyalaya, IIT, Kharagpur, West Bengal, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Churachandpur, Tuinom, Manipur were the winners of the 49th youth Parliament Competition, 2014-15 for the schools under the Directorate of Education, Govt. Of NCT of Delhi/NDMC, 27th National Youth Parliament Competition, 2014-15 for Kendriya Vidyalayas and 18th National Youth Parliament Competition, 2014-15 for Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas respectively. The 12th National Youth Parliament Competition 2014-15 for Universities/colleges is in progress.

Besides this, Youth Parliament Competitions were also held in the states of Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana and Karnataka by the respective State Governments for which this Ministry reimbursed the claims of expenditure incurred in organisation of the competition under the "Scheme of Financial Assistance to States/Union Territories for organising Youth Parliament Competitions". There is no direct involvement of this Ministry in the organisation of Youth Parliament

- (b) No claim for reimbursement of expenditure incurred in organizing of Youth Parliament Competitions was received in this Ministry from the Govt. of Bihar.
- (c) & (d) State Governments organise Youth Parliament Competitions in their recognised Higher Secondary Educational Institutions/ High Schools themselves. This Ministry only reimburses claims preferred by States/UTs in the following order:-
- 1. Legislatures having members up to 100 Rs. 3 Lacs per annum
- 2. Legislatures having members between 100-200 Rs. 4 Lacs per annum
- 3. Legislatures having members above 200 Rs. 5 Lacs per annum

(the ceiling in respect of UTs having no legislatures is Rs. 2, 00,000/- per Union Territory per annum)

Details of year -wise Financial Assistance provided to various State Governments for holding Youth Parliament Competition during last three years are as under:-

s.

No. Financial Year Name of State/UT Year for which claim was preferred Amount of Assistance

(Rs.)

Madhya Pradesh Karnataka Kerala 2011-12 2011-12 2011-12 2011-12 2010-11 & 2011-12 2011-12 2,74,042/-3,00,000/-4,00,000/-2,32,147/-5,00,000/-5,00,000/-4,00,000/-2. 2012-13 Madhya Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Odisha Karnataka Haryana 2012-13 2012-13 2012-13 2012-13 2012-13 2,23,004/-2,99,002/-4,00,000/-5,00,000/-3,00,000/-3. 2013-14 Haryana Kerala Karnataka Madhya Pradesh 2013-14 2012-13

2013-14

4,00,000/-5,00,000/-2,21,809/-

2013-14 3,00,000/-

1. 2011-12 Himachal Pradesh

Haryana Rajasthan

So far as the details of competitions held in various States including Bihar during the current year, the same is yet to be received in this Ministry.