GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1239
ANSWERED ON:28.07.2015
Inclusion of Languages
Patle Smt. Kamla Devi;Rathore Shri Hariom Singh

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the languages which have been included in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution;
- (b) the criteria adopted by the Government for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule;
- (c) the details of the proposals/requests and representations received from the States and various Organizations for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution along with the response of the Government thereto, State and language-wise including Chhattisgarhi and Rajasthani languages; and
- (d) the time by which such languages are likely to be included in the Eighth Schedule along with the reasons for pendency?

Answer

Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a): The following 22 languages are included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution:-

....2/ -2-

L.S.US.Q.NO.1239 FOR 28.07.2015

- (1) Assamese, (2) Bengali, (3) Gujarati, (4) Hindi, (5) Kannada, (6) Kashmiri, (7) Konkani, (8) Malayalam, (9) Manipuri, (10) Marathi, (11) Nepali, (12) Oriya, (13) Punjabi, (14) Sanskrit, (15) Sindhi, (16) Tamil, (17) Telugu, (18) Urdu, (19) Bodo, (20) Santhali, (21) Maithili and (22) Dogri.
- (b, c & d): At present there are demands for inclusion of 38 more languages including Chhattisgarhi and Rajasthani in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution. These are:
- (1) Angika, (2) Banjara, (3) Bazika, (4) Bhojpuri, (5) Bhoti, (6) Bhotia, (7) Bundelkhandi, (8) Chhattisgarhi, (9) Dhatki, (10) English, (11) Garhwali (Pahari), (12) Gondi, (13) Gujjar/Gujjari, (14) Ho, (15) Kachachhi, (16) Kamtapuri, (17) Karbi, (18) Khasi, (19) Kodava (Coorg), (20) Kok Barak, (21) Kumaoni (Pahari), (22) Kurukh, (23) Kurmali, (24) Lepcha, (25) Limbu, (26) Mizo (Lushai), (27) magahi, (28) Mundari, (29) Nagpuri, (30) Nicobarese, (31) Pahari (Himachali), (32) Pali, (33) Rajasthani, (34) Sambalpuri/Kosali, (35) Shaurseni (Prakrit), (36) Siraiki, (37) Tenyidi and (38) Tulu.

There is no established set of objective criteria for inclusion of languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution and as such no time-frame can be fixed for consideration of the demands for inclusion of more languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constituion.