GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1309
ANSWERED ON:28.07.2015
Setting up of Agricultural Universities
Mishra Shri Bhairon Prasad; Munde Dr. Pritam Gopinath; Ram Shri Vishnu Dayal

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the agricultural universities functioning at present in the various States of the country, State-wise;
- (b) whether the Union Government proposes to open new agricultural universities in various States of the country including, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State-wise along with the time by which such universities are likely to be set up;
- (d) the details of the funds allocated by the Government to various States in this regard; and
- (e) the major achievements of these agricultural universities during the last three years and the current year, and the details thereof, State-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE (DR. SANJEEV KUMAR BALYAN)

- (a) At present there are 73 Agricultural Universities (AUs), including 5 Deemed-to-be universities, 2 Central Agricultural Universities, 4 Central Universities with agriculture faculty. The State-wise including location wise list of AUs is annexed. (Annexure)
- (b) Yes, Madam.
- (c) (i) Central Agricultural University (CAU), Barapani in Meghalaya State. The allotment of land for Headquarters of the proposed CAU from the Govt. of Meghalaya is awaited.
- (ii) Establishment of Rajendra-Central Agricultural University through conversion of the existing Rajendra Agricultural University, Samastipur in State of Bihar.

Besides, in the Union Budget 14-15, establishment of following Universities was announced:

- (i) Agriculture University, Andhra Pradesh, i.e., ANGRAU in the residuary State of Andhra Pradesh at the Lam Village in Guntur District.
- (ii) Agriculture University, Rajasthan. The Govt. of Rajasthan has identified land in the Baran Lam village in Jhalawad district.
- (iii) Horticulture University, Haryana. The Government of Haryana has identified lands for establishing State Horticultural University in Karnal with three regional stations one at Village B-Raiyya Jhajjar, Second at Jind and third at Village Dera near Kala Amb in Nariangarh, Distt. Ambala.
- (iv) Horticulture University, Telangana. A notification was issued by the Government of Telangana for establishment of Sri Konda Laxaman Telangana State Horticultural University with Head Quarters at the Rajendra Nagar, Hyderabad.
- (d) (i) The EFC for Rs. 295 Crores has been approved for conversion of the Rajendra Agricultural University, Samastipur (Bihar) into the Rajendra Central Agricultural University, Samastipur (Bihar).
- (ii) Rs. 10 crore has been released in the year 2014-15 and Rs. 75 Crore has been allocated to the Agriculture University, Andhra Pradesh during 2015-16.
- (iii) Rs. 25 crore has been allocated for Agriculture University, Rajasthan during 2015-16.
- (iv) Rs. 25 crore has been allocated for Horticulture University, Haryana during 2015-16.
- (v) Rs. 10 crore has been released in the year 2014-15 and Rs. 75 crore has been allocated for Horticulture University, Telangana during 2015-16.
- (e) The State Agricultural Universities have contributed to human resource development as well as enhancement of agricultural production and productivity in the country by developing location specific varieties and technologies. These agricultural universities

| have trinity of functions to include teaching research and dissemination of agriculture related information. |
|--|
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| |