GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3228
ANSWERED ON:17.03.2015
FUNDS DISTRIBUTION. UNDER ADDITIONAL STATE LEVY SCHEME
Nayak Shri B.V.

Will the Minister of CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the fertilizer units are collecting and depositing the funds under the scheme of additional State levy to fertilizer units within stipulated time period whereas the funds are not re-distributed to them in time;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefore along with the action/steps taken by the Government in this regard;
- (c) the details of additional State levies that have been paid to State Governments by fertilizer units and the details of fund which has been re- distributed to fertilizer units, during the last three years and the current year, unit-wise; and
- (d) the details of funds that has been collected by fertilizer units from various States including Karnataka under the said scheme during the said period, unit wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

- (a)& (b): Yes, Madam, Urea units selling urea in the state of UP and Gujarat collect additional levy under the name of additional cost due to non recognized input taxation (ACTN) and deposit the collected amount with Fertilizer Industry Coordination Committee (FICC). FICC in turn redistribute the collected amount to the urea producing units of UP and Gujarat states. There is some time gap between collection and re-distribution.
- (c): The details of additional State levies that have been paid to State Government by fertilizer units during the last three years is placed at Annexure-I.

The details of fund which has been redistributed to fertilizer units during the last three years and the current year, units wise is placed at Annexure-II.

(d): The details of funds that has been collected by fertilizers units from various states under the ACTN scheme is placed at Annexure-III. However, no such fund is collected from the State of Karnataka.