GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5934 ANSWERED ON:29.04.2015 TENURE OF OFFICERS ON DEPUTATION Puttaraju Shri C.S.

Will the Minister of PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the maximum tenure for an All India Services Officers on deputation to Government Ministries/Departments;
- (b) whether the Government departments to which the official is on deputation has the powers to extend the tenure indefinitely and if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the names and posting of officers who are continuing on central deputation beyond the tenure permitted under the rules and the reasons for such extension in each case?

Answer

Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office. (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

(a): In terms of Consolidated Deputation Guidelines dated 11/01/2012, the maximum tenure of deputation applicable to All India Service officers at various level are given below:

Level of post Tenure
Under Secretary 3 years
Deputy Secretary 4 years
Director 5 years
Joint Secretary 5 years
Joint Secretary 7 years (subject to
Additional Secretary 3 years in the second
post, and also subject
further to a minimum of
5 years in the Centre.)
Additional Secretary 4 years
Secretary No ceiling

(b): No.

(c): Officers of All India Services who are continuing on central deputation beyond the tenure permitted under the rules are as follows:

IAS - 05 IPS - 11 IFS - Nil

The names and place of posting alongwith the reasons for their deputation beyond the tenure permitted is annexed.