GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COAL LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:6816 ANSWERED ON:07.05.2015 ALLOCATION OF COAL M. Smt. Vasanthi

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has allocated coal mines/blocks without auction during the last two years;
- (b) if so, the details of allocation, year/ State-wise;
- (c) the estimated loss to the exchequer on account of allocation without auction; and
- (d) the steps taken or being taken by the Government to recover the said loss?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR COAL, POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a)& (b): Under the provisions of Auction by Competitive Bidding of Coal Mines Rules, 2012, the following 06 coal mines have been allocated to Government Companies/Corporations through allotment:

```
S.No. Name of Allottee Name of coal mine State
Year of allocation: 2015
1 Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd. Kente Extn. Rajasthan
2 Odisha Thermal Power Corpn. Ltd. Tentuloi Odisha
3 Madhya Pradesh Power Generation Corpn. Ltd. Gondbahera-Ujheni Madhya Pradesh
4 NTPC Ltd.
[Central Public Sector Undertaking (CPSU)] Kudanali-Luburi CPSU
Jammu & Kashmir State Power Development (Joint allocation) Jammu & Kashmir Corpn. Ltd.
5 NTPC Ltd. Banai CPSU
6 NTPC Ltd. Bhalumuda CPSU
```

Further, under the provisions of Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015 and Rules made thereunder, the following 38 coal mines have been allocated to Government Companies/Corporations through the mode of allotment:-

```
S.No. Name of Allottee
                         Name of coal mine(s) State
Schedule-II coal mines
1 Damodar Valley Corpn.
                        KhagraJoydev CPSU
2 Karnataka Power Corpn. Ltd. Baranj I to IV, Kiloni, Karnataka
      Manora Deep
3 Punjab State Power Corpn. Ltd.
                                  Pachhwara Central Punjab
4 Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd. Parsa East, KantaBasan Rajasthan
5 West Bengal Power Development Corpn. Ltd. Barjora North West Bengal
6 West Bengal Power Development Corpn. Ltd. Barjora West Bengal
7 West Bengal Power Development Corpn. Ltd. Gangaramchak, Gangaramchak West Bengal
       -Bhadulia
8 West Bengal Power Development Corpn. Ltd. Tara (East) & (West) West Bengal
9 West Bengal Power Development Corpn. Ltd. Pachhwara North
                                                             West Bengal
Schedule-III coal mines
1 Bihar State Power Generation Company Ltd. Badam
                                                     Bihar
2 Chhattisgarh State Power Generation Co. Ltd. Gare Palma Sector III Chhattisgarh
3 Chhattisgarh State Power Generation Co. Ltd. Gidhmuri, Paturia Chhattisgarh
4 Gujarat State Electricity Corpn. Ltd. Gare Palma Sector I Gujarat 5 Jharkhand Urja Utpadan Nigam Limited. Banhardih Jharkhand
6 Maharashtra State Power Generation Co. Ltd. Gare Palma Sector II Maharashtra
7 NTPC Ltd.
               Kerandari CPSU
              Talaipalli CPSU
8 NTPC Ltd.
9 NTPC Ltd.
               ChattiBariatu, CPSU
      ChattiBariatu South
10 NTPC Ltd. Dulanga CPSU
11 Odisha Coal and Power Ltd. Manoharpur, Dipside Odisha
      Manoharpur
12 Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd. Parsa
                                                      Rajasthan
13 Tenughat Vidyut Nigam Ltd. Rajbar E & D Jharkhand
```

- 14 Telangana State Power Generation Corpn. Ltd. Tadicherla I Telangana 15 The Singareni Collieries Co. Ltd. Naini Telangana 16 Steel Authority of India Ltd. Sitanala CPSU

- 17 UP Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd. SaharpurJamarpani Uttar Pradesh
- 18 West Bengal Power Development Corpn. Ltd. Kasta (East) West Bengal

(c) & (d): As all these coal mines have been allocated in public interest to Government Companies/ Corporations only in accordance with the relevant Rules, there is no loss to the exchequer.