GOVERNMENT OF INDIA FINANCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:7007 ANSWERED ON:08.05.2015 PMRY Nagar Shri Rodmal

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of beneficiaries received loans under the Pradhan MantriRojgar Yojana (PMRY) during the last three years, State-wise including MP, Chhattisgarh;
- (b) The number of complaints received by the Government against the banks in granting PMRY loans during the said period, Statewise; and
- (c) The steps taken by the Government in this regard.

Answer

(MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE) (SHRI JAYANT SINHA)

- (a).Pradhan MantriRojgarYojana(PMRY) Scheme has been discontinued by the Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSME) with effect from 01.04.2008. A new scheme namely Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (PMEGP) was formulated and launched on 15.08.2008 by merging two employment generation schemes viz. PMRY and Rural Employment Generation Programme (REGP) and is being implemented with effect from FY 2008-09. PMEGP is a major credit-linked subsidy programme aimed at generating self-employment opportunities through establishment of micro-enterprises in the non-farm sector by helping traditional artisans and unemployed youth. KVIC is the national level nodal agency for implementation of PMEGP. The statewise number of beneficiaries in the country under the PMEGP Scheme during the last three years including MP and Chhattisgarh is given at Annexure.
- (b) & (c). Complaints of general nature against the banks are received in the Ministry which are dealt with on case to case basis. State-wise data of the complaints received against the banks is not compiled in the Ministry of MSME. The scheme is reviewed at the State Level Bankers' Committee by senior functionaries of the State Governments/ Union Territories. Intensive monitoring of the scheme and periodic interaction with banks are also carried out at various levels by KVIC and at national level by the Ministry of MSME. A District Level Advisory Committee has also been constituted under the Chairmanship of Member of Parliament of Lok Sabha for effective monitoring of the scheme.