## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DEFENCE LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:458
ANSWERED ON:24.04.2015
NATIONAL CADET CORPS UNITS
Khanduri AVSM Maj. Gen. (Retd) Bhuwan Chandra

## Will the Minister of DEFENCE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of National Cadet Corps (NCC) units in the country, State / UT-wise including Uttarakhand;
- (b) whether the Government has fixed any criterial norms for running the NCC units in various schools and inter-colleges in the country;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to open more NCC units in the country including Uttarakhand; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF DEFENCE (SHRI MANOHAR PARRIKAR)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 458 FOR ANSWER ON 24.04.2015

Presently there are 800 NCC units in the country. State / UT-wise details are at Appendix.

Running of NCC units is governed by the provisions contained in the NCC Act, 1948 and NCC Rules, 1948.

Under the ongoing expansion plan of NCC, 61 NCC units are earmarked for raising across the country. Out of this, 24 units have already been raised under the 1st and 2nd Phase. One NCC Group Headquarter was set up at Dehradun under the 1st Phase and one NCC Army Batta- lion was raised at Bageshwar in the State of Uttarakhand.

APPENDIX REFERRED IN THE REPLY GIVEN IN THE STATEMENT IN PARTS (a) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.458 FOR ANSWER ON 24.04.2015

States Total

1 Andhra Pradesh 67 (includes Telengana) 2 Arunachal Pradesh 2 3 Assam 26 4 Bihar 33 4 Bihar 33 5 Chhatisgarh 13 6 Goa 4 7 Gujarat 35 8 Haryana 19 9 Himachal Pradesh 12 10 Jammu & Kashmir 10 11 Jharkhand 13 12 Karnataka 50 13 Kerala 39 14 Madhya Pradesh 44 15 Maharashtra 61 16 Manipur 3 17 Meghalaya 4 18 Mizoram 3 19 Nagaland 4 20 Odisha 26 21 Punjab 33

22 Rajasthan 36
23 Sikkim 2
24 Tamilnadu 48
25 Tripura 3
26 Uttarakhand 18
27 Uttar Pradesh 109
28 West Bengal 50
UNION TERRITORIES:
1 Andaman & Nicobar 2
2 Chandigarh
4
3 Dadra & Nagar Haveli 0
4 Delhi 19
5 Diu Daman 0
6 Lakshadweep 0
7 Puducherry 8
Total: 800