GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2159 ANSWERED ON:24.07.2014 SETTING UP OF MINORITY COMMISSION Maadam Smt. Poonamben Hematbhai

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the States and Union Territories where Minority Commissions have been set up;
- (b) the details of States and Union Territories where these Commissions have not been set up so far; and
- (c) the time by which such Commissions would be set up in the remaining States and UTs?

Answer

MINISTER OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (DR. NAJMA A. HEPTULLA)

- (a) As per information received from National Commission for Minorities (NCM), the States of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhatisgarh, NCT of Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur ,Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and West Bengal have set up State Minority Commissions.
- (b) The States of Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Sikkim, & the Union Territories (UTs) of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep & Puducherry, have not yet set up a Minority Commission in their States/ UTs.
- (c) No time frame can be given as it is for the concerned States to set up Minority Commissions in their own States.