# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LAW AND JUSTICE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2687
ANSWERED ON:12.03.2015
HIGH COURT BENCH
Muddahanumegowda Shri S.P.;Swain Shri Ladu Kishore;Tharoor Dr. Shashi

#### Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the States having High Court Benches in the country;
- (b) the details of proposals received by the Central Government to set up another bench of High Court apart from existing High Court benches along with the action taken thereon;
- (c) whether the Central Government is seeking opinion of the Supreme Court and High Courts of the concerned States in this regard; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

# **Answer**

## MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (SHRI D.V. SADANANDA GOWDA)

- (a) :A Statement showing the details of High Courts, their jurisdiction and Benches in the States is at Annexure.
- (b) to (d): In accordance with the recommendations made by the Jaswant Singh Commission and judgment pronounced by the Apex Court in W.P.(C) No. 379 of 2000, Bench(es) of the High Court are established after due consideration of a complete proposal from the State Government, which is to provide infrastructure and meet the expenditure, along with the consent of the Chief Justice of the concerned High Court, which is required to look after the day to day administration of the High Court and its Bench. The proposal should also have the consent of the Governor of the concerned State Government.

Requests for establishment of High Court Benches in different parts of the country have been received from various sources including some State Governments. However, at present there is no proposal complete in all aspects pending for consideration by the Central Government.

## Annexure

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.2687 to be answered on 12.03.2015

```
Sl.No. High Court
                  Principal Sea
                                  Permanent Bench and Date from which
    Jurisdiction the Bench began functioning
1 Allahabad Allahabad Uttar Pradesh Lucknow (01.07.1948)
2 Andhra Pradesh & Telangana Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh and Telangana
         Mumbai Maharashtra; Goa; Daman & Diu; Dadra & Nagar Haveli;
3 Bombay
                    (01.05.1960)
       Nagpur
                     (01.07.1948)
       Panaii
       Aurangabad
                   (27.08.1984)
4 Calcutta Kolkata West Bengal & Andaman & Nicobar Islands
5 Chattisgarh Bilaspur Chattisgarh
6 Delhi
          New Delhi NCT of Delhi
```

7 Gauhati Guwahati Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, & Arunachal Pradesh.

Kohima, (10.02.1990) Aizawl, (05.07.1990) Itanagar (12.08.2000)

8 Gujarat Sola (Ahmedabad) Gujarat -

9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla Himachal Pradesh -

10 Jammu & Kashmir Jammu & Srinagar Jammu & Kashmir -

11 Jharkhand Ranchi Jharkhand -

12 Karnataka Bangalore Karnataka Dharwad (24.08.2013) Gulbarga (31.08.2013)

13 Kerala Ernakulam (Kochi) Kerala & Lakshadweep Islands -

14 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh

Gwalior (01.11.1956) Indore (01.11.1956)

15 Madras Chennai Tamil Nadu & Pondicherry Madurai (24.07.2004)

16 Orissa Cuttack Orissa -17 Patna Patna Bihar -18 Punjab & Haryana Chandigarh Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh -

19 Rajasthan Jodhpur Rajasthan Jaipur (31.01.1977)

- 20 Sikkim Gangtok Sikkim
- 21 Uttarakhand Nainital Uttarakhand -
- 22 Manipur Imphal Manipur 23 Meghalaya Shillong Meghalaya 24 Tripura Agartala Tripura