## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA** WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT **LOK SABHA**

**UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2805** ANSWERED ON:13.03.2015 NATIONAL MISSION FOR EMPOWERMENT OF WOMEN Chavan Shri Harishchandra Deoram; Fatepara Shri Devajibhai Govindbhai

## Will the Minister of WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the aims and objectives for setting up the National Mission for Empowerment of Women (NMEW) in the country;
- (b) whether NMEW has achieved its aims and objectives, if so, the details thereof and if not, the reason therefor;
- (c) the number of women benefitted from NMEW across the country during each of the last three years and the current year, State/UT - wise;
- (d) whether the NMEW has been implemented across the country, if so, the details thereof, State/UT wise and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (e) the time by which NMEW is likely to be implemented in all States of the country?

## Answer

## MINISTER OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT(SMT. MANEKA SANJAY GANDHI)

- (a) National Mission for Empowerment of Women (NMEW) under Ministry of Women and Child Development was initiated during the terminal year of the XI plan to bring about inter-sectoral convergence with a gender focus. NMEW aims to achieve holistic empowerment of women through convergence of schemes/programmes of different Ministries/Department of Government of India as well as State Governments.
- (b), (c) & (d): National Mission for Empowerment of Women (NMEW) has been able to make progress towards bringing gender issues centre-stage across different States/UTs & enhance the capacity of functionaries through training and capacity building. Thus, NMEW endeavours to facilitate the reach of various services and programmes of the Central and State Governments to the target group of women through training and capacity building. At present, State Resource Centre for Women (SRCW) under NMEW scheme have been notified in 31 States/UTs. The SRCWs established in every State/UTs is responsible for implementing various interventions of NMEW. The SRCW is designated to operate under the Department of Women & Child/Social Welfare of the respective state/UT Government. The details of SRCW notified under NMEW Scheme in 31 States/UTs are as follows:
- 1. ASSAM 17. MIZORAM
- ANDHRA PRADESH 18. NAGALAND
   BIHAR 19. ODISHA
- 4. CHANDIGARH 20. PUDUCHERRY
- CHHATTISGARH 21. PUNJAB
- 6. GOA 22. RAJASTHAN
- 7 GUJARAT 23. UTTARAKHAND 8. HARYANA 24. WEST BENGAL
- 9. HIMACHAL PRADESH 25. DAMAN AND DIU
- 10. KARNATAKA 26. TRIPURA
- 11. KERALA 27. JHARKHAND
- 12. LAKSHADEEP 28. UTTAR PRADESH
- 13. MADHYA PRADESH 29. JAMMU & KASHMIR 14. MAHARASHTRA 30. TAMIL NADU
- 15. MANIPUR 31. SIKKIM
- 16. MEGHALAYA

Under the Poorna Shakti Kendra (PSK) project, District Convergence Facilitation Centre (DCFC), Tehsil Level Facilitation Centre and Village Level Facilitation Centres (Poorna Shakti Kendra) are established to function as a One Stop Centre for services to women, providing a platform/forum to come together, explore their potentials and possibilities, raise awareness about their contribution to society and their social, economical and political rise, facilitate access to schemes and entitlements and build capabilities for promoting women's participation in decision making. The PSK project has been approved for 33 select districts in consultation with the respective state /UT governments with the focus on critical gender indicators like low child sex ratio, low female work participation rates, low female literacy rates etc.. The number of districts approved for implementation of PSK project is as under:

```
18) Rohtak
     19) Panipat
2 Bihar 2) Aurangabad 15 Tripura 20) West Tripura
  3) Nalanda
  4) Begusarai
3 Karnataka 5) Gulbarga 16 Uttar Pradesh 21) Kannauj
    22) Banda
4 Gujarat 6) Sabarkantha 17 West Bengal 23) Malda
5 Madhya Pradesh 7) Dhar 18 Rajasthan 24) Pali (Full district)
     25) Bundi
6 Daman and Diu 8) Daman 19 Chandigarh 26) Chandigarh
7 Tamil Nadu 9) Salem 20 Assam 27) Kamrup, Metro
8 Meghalaya 10) Jaintia Hills,
Jowai 21 Chhattisgarh 28) Bilaspur
9 Mizoram 11) Champai 22 Jammu & Kashmir 29) Kulgam
10 Uttarakhand 12) Haridwar 23 Odisha 30) Nayagarh
 13) Pithoragarh
11 Jharkhand 14) West
Singbhum 24 Maharashtra 31) Pune
12 Himachal Pradesh 15) Solan 25 Sikkim 32) East Sikkim
13 Nagaland 16) Kohima 26 Puducherry 33) Puducherry
```

1 Andhra Pradesh 1) Medak 14 Haryana 17) Mewat

(e) NMEW Scheme has been approved for continuation during the 12th Plan period.