GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2076 ANSWERED ON:10.03.2015 E-VISA SCHEME Venkatesh Babu Shri T.G.

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the salient features of e-Visa scheme
- (b) Whether the Government proposes to extend this facility to more countries; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof along with the names of the countries to which the said facility has already been extended?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a): There is no such scheme by the name of e- Visa in Government of India. However, Govern- ment recently introduced Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA) enabled with Electronic Travel Authori- zation (ETA) scheme to 44 countries. The core objective of scheme is to develop and implement a secure and integrated service delivery that facilitates legitimate travelers while strengthening security. It is also to streamline and simplify Visa procedures reducing immigration clearance time and ensure better security checks.

TVoA-ETA scheme is available for International Travelers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit etc.

TVoA-ETA is allowed for a maximum period of 30 days with single entry facility on payment of a Visa fee of US \$ 60/- or equivalent amount in Indian rupees per passenger (including children). TVoA-ETA is non-extendable, non convertible and allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to a foreigner.

(b) to (c): Presently TVoA-ETA scheme is available for the citizens of 44 countries viz. Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Djibouti, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, UAE, Ukraine, Vietnam, USA, Cook Islands, Kingdom of Tongo, Tuvalu, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Kiribati, Vanuatu, Solomon Island, Samoa, Niue, Republic of Palau, Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Marshall Islands, Fiji, Papua and New Guinea and Guyana.

The inclusion of additional countries is a continuous process which is done after appropriate consultation with all stake holders of Government of India.