GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:786 ANSWERED ON:27.02.2015 RESIGNATION FROM CBFC Chaudhary Shri P.P.;Gogoi Shri Gaurav;Jayadevan Shri C. N.;Nath Shri Chand;Owaisi Shri Asaduddin;P. Shri Nagarajan;Rao (Avnthi) Shri Muthamsetti Srinivasa;Scindia Shri Jyotiraditya Madhavrao

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

(a) the details of funds allocated to Central Board of Film Certification(CBFC) during each of the last three years;

(b) whether the chairperson and several members of the CBFC have resigned recently;

(c) if so, the details and the reasons therefor;

(d) whether the Chairperson and Member of the CBFC have alleged corruption and interference by the Government in their functioning ; and

(e) if so, the facts thereof and the steps taken/proposed to be taken by the government to bring transparency and give full autonomy in the functioning of the CBFC?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.))

(a) : The details of funds allocated to Central Board of Film Certification(CBFC)during each of the last three years under Plan and Non-Plan is as under:-

Plan Scheme:-

Year Amount allocated(Rs.in lakh) 2011-12 220.00 2012-13 25.00 2013-14 175.00

Non-Plan :-

Year Amount allocated(Rs.in lakh) 2011-12 610.00 2012-13 654.05 2013-14 614.67

(b) to (e): The tenure of then Chairperson Smt. Leela Samson had expired on 31.3.2014 and tenure of 14 other members had expired on 24.5.2014. Rule 3(2) of the Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, allows her continuation of Chairperson till substitute is appointed. This provision is not applicable in the case of other members and their tenure was extended until further orders. Smt. Leela Samson the then Chairperson, Central Board of Film Certification(CBFC) submitted her resignation on 16.1.2015 alleging interference. 9 other Board Members of CBFC whose tenure has extended viz.Ms. Ira Bhaskar, Smt. Lora K Prabhu, MsMamang Dai, ShriPankaj Sharma, Shri Rajeev Masand, Shri K.C. ShekharBabu, ShriSaji Karun, Ms. Shubhra Gupta and Shri T.V. Thyagarajan had also submitted their resignation alongwith her. The resignation submitted by the Chairperson and the other Board Members were accepted by the competent authority and ShriPahlajNihalaniwas appointed as Chairperson of CBFC w.e.f.19.1.2015. Ten other new Board Members were also appointed in place of those whose resignation were accepted and also against one existing vacancy.

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has always respected the Board's decisions and has never interfered in the decision making process of the Board. There was no coercion on the Chairperson or any other Member of the Central Board of Film Certification by the Ministry as alleged by them. At no point had the Ministry communicated with the Chairperson or Board members of the CBFC relating to certification of any film. The legal regime with regard to the functioning of the CBFC is well laid out and it is the Board alone which decides within its jurisdiction.

Any aggrieved producer has the right to move the Film Certification Appellate Tribunal, which is headed by a former Judge of the High Court which decides matters of appeal in accordance with the Cinematograph Act. As far as the autonomy of the Board is concerned, there are adequate provision in the existing Cinematograph Act and Rules.