GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4095
ANSWERED ON:17.12.2014
MINORITY CONCENTRATED DISTRICTS
Rajesh Shri M. B.;Suresh Shri Doddaalahalli Kempegowda

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether many villages and blocks still remain outside the Minority Concentrated Districts despite fulfilling the norms;
- (b) if so, the reasons therefor. State/ District-wise;
- (c) the steps taken/being taken by the Government to bring them into mainstream of the Minorities Concentration Districts;
- (d) the financial assistance provided by the Union Government to States for Area Intensive Programmes under minorities welfare programmes during each of the last three years; and
- (e) the details of achievements made under the scheme during the said period. State-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

(a) to (c): A total of 90 Minority Concentration Districts were identified in the country on the basis of substantial minority population as well as backwardness parameters asper Census data of 2001. for implementation of Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) with effect from October 2008.

The programme has been revamped in 2013-14 for its implementation during 12n Five Year Plan. Blocks with a minimum of 25% minority population falling in the backward districts have been selected. However, in case of 6 States (Lakshadweep, Punjab. Nagaiand, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Jammu & Kashmir), where a minority community is in majority, a lov/er cut-off of 15% of minority population, other than that of the minority community in majority in that State/UT, has been adopted.

Contiguous minority concentration villages outside minority concentration blocks (having at least 50% minority population) and falling in backward districts are eligible for selection under this programme. In case of hilly areas of North Eastern States, a village cluster with 25% minority population is eligible under this programme. Towns/cities with a minimum of 25% minority population (in case of 6 States/UTs namely, Lakhadweep, Punjab, Nagaland. Meghalaya, Mizoram and Jammu and Kasmir, 15% of minority population, other than that of the minority community in majority in that State/UT) having both socio- economic and basic amenities parameters below national average have been identified as Minority Concentration Towns under MsDP. As such, presently, 710 Minority Concentration Blocks and 66 Minority Concentration Towns falling in 196 districts have been selected under MsDP. However, revision of such Blocks and Towns under MsDP is contingent upon the availability of data of 2011 Census.

(d) & (e): The State/UT wise details of the financial assistance provided and achievement/Utilisation as reported by States/UTs and project approved by the Ministry for last three years are at Annexure -1 and Annexure â€"II respectively.