GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COAL LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4172 ANSWERED ON:18.12.2014 ALLOCATION OF COAL BLOCKS Biju Shri Parayamparanbil Kuttappan

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has received proposals from the various States including Kerala, for allocation of coal blocks;
- (b) if so, the details thereof during the last three years and the current year; and
- (c) the details of the proposals cleared during the said period and the proposals awaiting clearance along with the reasons therefor?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (I/O FOR COAL, POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (c): In response to the Notice Inviting Applications (NIA) dated 31.12.2012 for allocation of 14 coal blocks for specified end-use i.e. Power under the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957, this Ministry had received applications from Government Companies/Corporations of various States including the State of Kerala. On the basis of the comments received from Ministry of Power/ Central Electricity Authority and after detailed deliberations and discussions held in the meetings of Inter-Ministerial Technical Committee and Inter-Ministerial Committee, the application of Kerala State Electricity Board was not considered eligible for allocation of coal blocks. However, the Government has decided to allocate these 14 coal blocks to Government Companies/Corporations as per details given below:-

```
SI.No. Coal Block Proposed Applicant Proposed Govt. Proposed allocated
  State/ CPSU Company Coal Reserves (MT)
(1) (2) (3) (4)
                   (5)
1. Tentuloi Odisha
                  Odisha Thermal 1234.00
     Power Corp. Ltd.
2. Bhalumuda NTPC NTPC Ltd. 550.00
3. Banai NTPC NTPC Ltd. 629.00
4. Chandrabila NTPC NTPC Ltd. 550.00
5. Kudanali- NTPC NTPC Ltd. 266.00
Luburi Jammu & Kashmir J&K State Power Dev. 130.00
    Corp. Ltd.
6. Baisi Chhattisgarh Chhattisgarh State 150.00
     Power Gen. Co.
7 Pachwara-South NLC
                     Neyveli U.P. Power Ltd. 279.00
8. Jilga-Barpali NLC Chhattisgarh NLC/Sirkali (Tamil Nadu) 396.00
     Chhattisgarh State Power150.00
9. Sarapal-Nuapara Andhra Pradesh APGENCO
10. KenteExtn. Rajasthan Rajasthan Vidyut 200.00
     Utpadan Nigam
11. Mahajanvadi Maharashtra MAHAGENCO 170.00
  Gujarat GSECL 170.00
12. Gondbahera Madhya Pradesh MPPGCL 532.00
Ujheni
13. Deocha- Karnataka Karnataka Power 382.00
Pachami Corp. Ltd.
  West Bengal The West Bengal Power 584.00
     Dev. Corp.
  Bihar BSPGCL/SJVNLtd. 486.00
  Punjab Punjab State Power 229.00
    Corp. Ltd.
  Tamil Nadu Tamil Nadu Generation 171.00
     & Dist. Corp. Ltd.
  Uttar Pradesh UPRVUNL 250.00
14. Kalyanpur- Haryana HPGCL 51.00
Badalpara Uttar Pradesh UPRVUNL 51.00
```