## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:44 ANSWERED ON:02.07.2009 MODEL RAILWAY STATION Yadav Shri M. Anjan Kumar

## Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the criteria for declaring a railway station as a model railway station;
- (b) the number of stations in Andhra Pradesh presently fulfilling these criteria;
- (c) whether some of the railway stations have not been declared model railway stations despite fulfilling these criteria; and
- (d) the names of railway stations in Andhra Pradesh declared as model railway stations?

## **Answer**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI K. H. MUNIYAPPA)

- (a): For the purpose of providing upgraded passenger amenities, the existing criteria provides for selecting 'A-1', 'A' and 'B' category stations as model stations.
- (b): 67 stations from the State of Andhra Pradesh presently fulfill these criteria.
- (c): Yes, Madam. These are those stations which have been upgraded to 'A' or 'B' category only recently.
- (d): The names of railway stations in Andhra Pradesh declared as model railway stations are as under:

Dharmavaram Jn., Guntakal, Guntur, Hyderabad, Kacheguda, Kakinada Town, Nellore, Rajahmundry, Secunderabad, Tirupati, Vijayawada, Palasa, Visakhapatnam, Warangal, Vizianagaram, Srikakulam, Anakapalli, Anantapur, Bhimavaram Town, Cuddapah, Eluru, Godavari, Kazipet, Khammam, Ongole, Samalkot, Tenali, Adoni, Chirala, Kurnool Town, Machilipatnam, Manchiryal, Palakollu, Ramagundam, Tadepalligudem, Tandur, Tanuku, Tuni, Bhimavaram, Dhone, Dornakal, Gooty, Gudivada, Gudur, Nadikudi, Nidadavolu, Pakala, Renigunta, Vikarabad, Annavaram, Basar, Bhadrachalam Road, Mantralayam Road, Nalgonda, Srikhalahasti, Nandyal and Nizamabad.