GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3883 ANSWERED ON:18.02.2014 WOMEN BATTALIONS Dhanaplan Shri K. P.

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to set up Women Battalions/Reserve Battalions in the Central Armed Police Forces, (CAPF);
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the locations identified for setting up of such Battalions/Reserve Battalions, force location and State/UT- wise including Kerala; and
- (c) the time by which such Battalions are likely to be set up?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI R.P.N. SINGH)

(a)to (c): Government has sanctioned additional women battalions and additional Reserve Battalions to Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) in recent past as under:-

```
CAPF Women Battalions Reserve Battalion
No. Date of Raising Location No. Date of Raising Location
CAPF Women Battalions
 of Bn sanctionperiod of Bn sanction schedule
CRPF 2 1.9.2009One Bn Kolkata (WB) 36 Bns 1.9.2009 10 years CRPF Battalions
  has been
and Alwar \,\, with effect are attached
   raised. (Rajasthan)
                        from 2009-10 to Group Centres
   Schedule and do not have
   for rais-
                  independent Kev
                Location Plans.
   ing the
   remaining
   Bn is 2014-15.
CISF Nil Nil Nil Nil 2 21.9.2010 2010-11 Guwahati (Assam),
           Lakkur, Bangalore
           (Karanataka)
BSF Nil Nil Nil Nil 13 22.1.2009 7 years Locations of
         with effect 8 Reserve Bns has
         from 2009-10 been decided.
           These are Bhondsi
           (Haryana), Udham
           Singh Nagar (UKD),
           Jaipur (Rajasthan),
           Indoor (MP), Thrissur
           (Kerala), Solapur
           (Maharashtra), Chedima
           (Nagaland) and
           Nagpur (Maharashtra)
SSB Nil Nil Nil Nil 14 25.6.2010 6 years with Srinagar (Uttarakhand),
         effect from Ranchi (Jharkhand),
         2010-11 Sambalpur (Odisha),
           Sholapur (Maharashtra),
           Alwar (2 Bns) (Rajasthan),
           Jamnagar (Gujarat),
           Jammu (J&K), Shamshi
           (Himachal Pradesh),
           Gwalior (MP),
             Rourkela (Odisha),
           Yelki (Maharashtra).
           Tiruchi (Tamil Nadu)
           and Tezpur (Assam)
```