GOVERNMENT OF INDIA FINANCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4569 ANSWERED ON:21.02.2014 LANGUAGES IN RUPEE NOTES Meinya Dr. Thokchom

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

(a) the Indian languages which are printed on the Indian currency notes;

(b) the criteria, procedure and process for further inclusion of languages in our currency notes;

(c) whether all the constitutionally recognised languages (Eighth Scheduled Languages) are . included in the currency notes;

(d) if so, the details thereof; and

(e) the steps taken or proposed to be taken to include all such languages like Manipuri in the currency note?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE (SHRINAMO NARAIN MEENA)

(a) to (e) : The Indian banknotes are printed in two languages, English and Hindi. In addition, 15 out of the 22 languages in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution are printed on the language panel of the Indian notes. They are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Inclusion of languages on Banknotes is a part of design which is determined in terms of Section 25 of RBIAct, 1934. The Reserve Bank of India has informed that addition of any other language in the language panel of banknotes would require expansion of the space used by the language panel and cluttering the design, thereby leaving less place for the security features.