GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CIVIL AVIATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3728 ANSWERED ON:13.02.2014 NIGHT LANDING FACILITY Gowda Shri D.B. Chandre

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has provided night landing facilities at all airports in the country including Karnataka;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) if not, the details of airports where night landing facilities have not been provided and where operations at the Airports are not allowed after sunset; and
- (d) the steps taken by the Government to provide night landing facilities at all airports in the country?

Answer

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (SHRI K. C. VENUGOPAL)

(a) to (d): All airports under the control of AAI having scheduled commercial flight operations are equipped with ground lighting facilities used for night operations. In the State of Karnataka, airports under the control of AAI having scheduled commercial flights are Belgaum, Hubli, Mysore and Mangalore are also equipped with ground lighting facilities for night operations requirements. A list of airports having ground lighting facilities required for night operation is enclosed as Annexure-I.

```
DETAILS OF EXISTING AIRPORTS WHICH HAVE GROUND LIGHTING
FACILITIES REQUIRED FORNIGHT OPERATION.
S.no. State Airport
   Andra Pradesh Hyderabad
   Tirupati
   Vijavwada
   Vishakapattnam
   Dibrugarh
   Guwahati
            Jorhat.
   Assam
   Lilabari
   Tezpur
   Andmaan Nikobar Portblair
   Bihar Patna
   Chattisgarh Raipur
   Ahmedabad
   Bhavnagar
   Gujrat
             Bhuj
   Jamnagar
   Rajkot
   Vodadara
    Goa Goa
   Jharkhand Ranchi
8
9
   J &K Jammu
   Srinagar
   Calicut
        Cochin
10
         Trivandrum
   Banglore
    Karnataka
                 Hubli
   Manglore
   Belgaum
   Aurangabad
   Maharashtra Gondia
   Pune
13
    Meghalva
               Barapani
             Lingpui
   Mizorum
```

15 Nagaland Dimapur Khajuraho Bhopal 16 Madya Pradesh Indore Jabalpur Gwalior Imphal Bhubneshwar 17 Manipur 18 Odhisa Amritsar 19 Punjab Ludhiana Pathankot Jaipur Rajasthan Jodhpur Jaisalmer Udaipur Tripura Agartala Chennai Tamilnadu Coimbtore Trichy Madurai

Uttrakhand Dehradun 23

Pantnagar Lucknow

24 Uttar Pradesh Varanasi

Gorakhpur

West Bengal Bagdogra 25

Kolkata

26 Union Territory Chandigarh