## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4262 ANSWERED ON:20.02.2014 WOMEN SCIENTISTS SCHEME Vijayan Shri A.K.S.

## Will the Minister of SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY be pleased to state:

(a) the number of women scientists working in the various research institutions and science and technology departments/agencies of Government;

(b) whether the Government has taken any steps to improve the participation of women scientists in the science and technology sector; and

(c) if so, the details and the outcome thereof?

## Answer

## MINISTER OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND MINISTER OF EARTH SCIENCES (S. JAIPAL REDDY)

(a) As per the latest Official Statistics available (01.04.2010), the number of women scientists working in various research institutions and science and technology departments /agencies of Government are 13660 out of the total 27532 women R&D manpower employed in the country.

(b) Yes, Madam.

(c) Scientific organizations in India have been undertaking several initiatives to improve the participation of women scientists in the science and technology sector. The Department of Science and Technology (DST) had started "Women Scientist Scheme" (WOS) in 2002, now it is reshaped and known as "DISHA", to provide a platform for enhancing gender parity in Indian science. This is a holistic approach to challenge and address the need for attraction, assured opportunity in career, re-entry after break-in careers, retention and mobility with possibilities for mid-career changes and role in leadership development. Since its inception, 2680 women scientists have been supported in project mode in various research institutions. DST is also implementing a program, CURIE (Consolidation of University Research for Innovation and Excellence in Women Universities), to enhance institutional capacities towards promoting excellence in research and also integrating entrepreneurship with academics and research. Since 2009, 6 Women Universities namely, (i) Banasthali Women University, Banasthali, (ii) Avinashilingam Women University, Coimbatore, (iii) SNDT Women University, Mumbai, (iv) Sri Padmavati Mahila Visvavidyalayam, Tirupati, (v) Karnataka State Women University, Bijapur, and (vi) Mother Teresa Women University, Kodaikanal have been supported for 3 years under CURIE program. 2nd Phase of CURIE has also been started to make an impact on the quality of research output from these universities. The Department of Biotechnology (DBT) has also started in 2010, Bio-CARe (Biotechnology Career Advancement and Re-orientation Program for Women Scientists) to enhance the participation of women scientists in biotechnology research. Till date 122 women scientists have been supported.