GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2683 ANSWERED ON:07.02.2014 LPG SUBSIDY Mani Shri Jose K.:Thomas Shri P. T.

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether LPG consumers are facing difficulties in getting subsidy on LPG cylinders in various States/UTs including Kerala;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise;
- (c) whether the Government has received requests from various States/ UTs for extention of time for linking Aadhaar with bank accounts of LPG consumers;
- (d) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise and
- (e) the action taken by the Government thereon?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM & NATURAL GAS (SMT PANABAAKA LAKSHMI)

(a) & (b): All LPG consumers are given a minimum grace period of 3 months from the date of launch of DBTL in the district during which all those who have not yet linked their Aadhaar number to LPG consumer number & bank account will continue to get subsidised cylinders as per their entitlement, as they are getting today. However, after the end of grace period all cylinders would be sold at market price & subsidy will be transferred to only those LPG consumers who have linked their Aadhaar number to LPG consumer number as well as to their bank account. Those who do not wish to avail the subsidy need not link their Aadhaar number to their LPG consumer number and to their bank account. As on date there are 42 districts including 2 districts, namely, Pathanamthitta & Wayanad of Kerala where grace period has expired and LPG consumers who have not joined the scheme are not getting subsidy.

Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) have not reported any specific and established cases of difficulties faced by the LPG consumers.

(c) to (e): Government has received requests from various States/UTs including Kerala for extension of grace period and had extended grace period upto 31.12.2013 in 34 districts, namely, Srikakulam, Guntur, Krishna, Adilabad, Cuddapah, Prakasam, West Godavari, South Goa, Kangra, Chamba, Kullu, Solan, Sirmaur, Shimla, Alappuzha, Kozhikode, Idukki, Thrissur, Ernakulam, Kottayam, Kollam, Kannur, Palakkad, Thiruvananthapuram, Kasaragod, Malappuram, Hoshangabad, Burhanpur, Amravati, Fatehgarh Sahib, Barnala, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Faridkot and further reintroduced w.e.f. 4.01.2014 and upto 28.02.2014 in the above mentioned district of Kerala. Grace period has been extended upto 28.02.2014 in all the districts where DBTL has been launched in 3rd and 4th phase.