## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3357 ANSWERED ON:12.02.2014 TECHNICAL INSTITUTES Yadav Shri M. Anjan Kumar

## Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the steps taken/being taken by the Government for setting up of technical institutes in the country, State-wise;
- (b) the names of the locations of the States where such institutes have been set up following the steps taken up for the same;
- (c) the reasons for the Government not providing assistance for setting up these institutes in remote and backward areas of the country, State-wise; and
- (d) the reaction of the Government thereon?

## **Answer**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (Dr. Shashi Tharoor)

- (a) & (b): The Government has set up the following 32 Centrally Funded Technical Institutions (CFTIs) in the country during the XIth Five Year Plan period.
- (i) Eight Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) at Patna (Bihar), Indore (Madhya Pradesh), Bhubaneshwar (Orissa), Jodhpur (Rajasthan), Gandhinagar (Gujarat), Ropar (Punjab), Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh) and Mandi (Himachal Padesh).
- (ii) Seven Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) at Tiruchirappalli (Tamil Nadu) , Shillong (Meghalaya), Ranchi (Jharkhand), Rohtak (Haryana), Raipur (Chhattisgarh), Kashipur (Uttarakhand) and Udaipur (Rajasthan).
- (iii) Ten National Institutes of Technology (NITs) at Jote(Arunachal Pradesh), Dwarka -temp. campus (Delhi), Cuncolin (Goa), Imphal (Manipur), Cherapunjee (Meghalaya), Aizwal (Mizoram), Dimapur (Nagaland), Karaikal (Puducherry), Khamdung (Sikkim) and Garhwal-temp. campus (Uttarakhand).
- (iv) Five Indian Institutes of Science Education & Research (IISERs) at Kolkata (West Bengal), Pune (Maharashtra), Mohali (Punjab), Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) and Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala).
- (v) Two Schools of Planning and Architecture at Vijayawada (Andhra Pradesh) and Bhopal in Madhya Pradesh
- (c) & (d): Out of 32 CFTIs, 12 Institutes have been set up in the North East States and other remote & backward areas of the country during the XIth Plan period. Also, the Government has decided to establish 20 New Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) in the Private-Public Partnership (PPP) mode in the Country. Out of these 20 IIITs, two are to be set up in the State of Andhra Pradesh and one each in the States of Assam, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Tripura.

Under the scheme of "Sub-Mission on Polytechnics under coordinated action for Skill Development", the Ministry provides one-time financial assistance limited to `12.30 crore per polytechnic to the State/UT Governments, for the setting up of new Polytechnics in unserved and underserved districts of the country, subject to the respective State/UT Governments providing land free of cost, meeting 100% recurring expenditure and also non-recurring expenditure beyond `12.30 crore, if any. So far the State/UT Governments have been provided partial financial assistance to set up Polytechnics in 291 districts in 27 States/UTs.