GOVERNMENT OF INDIA FINANCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:250
ANSWERED ON:06.12.2013
BANK REGISTERED UNDER COOPERATIVE SOCIETIES ACT
Rajaram Shri Wakchaure Bhausaheb

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of banks registered under the Cooperative Societies Act and Companies Act, State/UT-wise;
- (b) the amount deposited in these banks at the time of liquidation; and
- (c) the details of the claim amount sanctioned/actually disbursed under Deposit Insurance Credit Guarantee Scheme during each of the last three years and the current year, bank-wise?

Answer

The Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance (Shri Namo Narain Meena)

- (a) All 32 State Cooperative Banks (SCBs), except Goa SCB which has been deemed to be registered under the Multi-State Cooperative Societies Act, all 370 District Central Cooperative Banks (DCCBs) and all 1606 Urban Cooperative Banks (UCBs) are registered under State Cooperative Societies Acts of the States concerned. The details are given in Annexure-I. The number of Banks registered under Companies Act is not available.
- (b)and (c) No SCB/DCCB has been liquidated during the last three years. As regards Urban Cooperative Banks, the details of the banks deregistered along with their assessable deposits during the last three years and as on 30 September 2013 during the current year are given in Annexure-II. The bank-wise details of the claim amount sanctioned/actually disbursed under Deposit Insurance Credit Guarantee Scheme during each of the last three years are given in Annexure-III.