GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:733
ANSWERED ON:24.11.2009
ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR PRASAR BHARATI
Chitthan Shri N.S.V.

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether advisory committees for All India Radio and Prasar Bharati have been constituted at the State and station level;
- (b) if so, the details thereof alongwith the functions assigned and discharged by such committees;
- (c) whether any guidelines exists for the setting-up of such committees; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SHRI C M JATUA)

(a) to (d): Yes, Sir. Prasar Bharati has informed that Programme Advisory Committees (PACs) are constituted at AIR Station level as per the guidelines issued by Directorate General: All India Radio, while Joint Programme Advisory Committees are constituted by Doordarshan at Capital Stations/Kendras. Details of PAC constituted by Doordarshan as well are PACs constituted by AIR are given in Annexure.

Joint PAC is chaired by senior most Programme Head between DD and AIR, while PAC attached to AIR Station is chaired by Station Director concerned. Besides ex-officio members, the number of non-official members is 10 to 15 in PACs attached to major stations/Kendras and 5 to 10 in smaller Stations. Out of these, 50% are women. Non-official members represent different disciplines/interest groups. Panel of non-official members is prepared by Station/Kendra concerned from their coverage zones and is approved by concerned Director General. The term of PACs is for two years. It reviews the programmes broadcast/telecast and makes suggestions for improvement of the programmes.

Annexure

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 733 FOR ANSWER ON 24.11.2009

1. Programme Advisory Committees Constituted by Doordarshan

```
    Jalandhar 2. Jaipur
    Chennai 4. Lucknow
    Kolkata 6. Delhi
    Mumbai 8. Srinagar
    Raipur 10. Guwahati
    Hyderabad 12. Bangalore
    Ahmedabad 14. Ranchi
```

2. Programme Advisory Committees Constituted by All India Radio

```
1. Rampur 2. Jamshedpur
3. Udaipur 4. Agartala
5. Gorakhpur 6. Sambalpur
7 Nagpur 8. Bhadravati
9. Bhuj 10. Najibabad
11. Panaji 12. Tiruchirapalli
13. Gwalior 14. Varanasi
```

- 15. Shimla 16. Dharwad
 17. Calicut 18. Bharamshala
 19. Aurangabad 20. Leh
 21. Jeypore 22. Cuttack
 23. Aizwal 24. Chhattarpur
 25. Pune 26. Siliguri
 27. Agra 28. Rajkot
 29. Bhagalpur 30. Reeva
 31. Allahabad 32. Jammu